We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go there!!”

Langan's Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Langan's Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #548 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Transit: A,C,E,1,2,3 to 42nd Street
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go there!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were a party of nine, who had been let down by Alfredo's, on 30th October 2012, just after Hurricane Sandy had hit New York. The lovely irish lady brought us in, sat us down, with very little staff on duty, and we had a lovely meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    211
    78
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Haven in a Hurricane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We got caught in Hurricane Sandy and when everything was shut, Langan's was open. We watched the storm develop, ate whilst the storm raged and repeated the experience the night after when the city was still in lock down. All around us were similar stories, in many languages and Langan's made us all welcome and ensured we were comfortably fed and watered. If for no other reason they deserve our thanks and praise.
The food however is good, particularly the Irish specials and the burgers. There are numerous beers on tap and despite the stress of the situation the staff are welcoming and friendly

Helpful?
1 Thank Simonrt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visited New York for the very first time this month and was delighted to find Langan's Bar just round the corner from my hotel. Greatn place. Service was excellent - top tips on what to see and do from barman Owen - food great (and more great tips from Owen on that front) and good beer. All round a top class bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsuzsabozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pre Broadway show restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very close to Times Square, but on a side street. Very good irish food at an inexpensive price and great service. Have to get in by 6 pm to beat the crowd. Otherwise, make reservations

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeRecine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went here two nights, the first night we popped in for a glass of wine and stayed for some bar snacks which were very nice. the second night we decided to go back for dinner. Dinner was lovely, we had the steak which was very tasty.The staff were helpful and friendly. Recommended

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank janicewilliams38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langan's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Langan's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing