We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do NYC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sardi's Restaurant

Sardi's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sardi's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #501 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 7th and 8th
Transit: 42nd Street Station
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must do NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

The proximity to Times Square and Theatre District makes Sardi's most attractive for pre or post theatre dining. Loved the energetic atmosphere and caricatures on the walls. This would not be a quiet, romantic dining spot, but enjoyable in its own right. Our female server was quick and adequate, but not much personality. We sat at a corner table with a great view of the other diners, but didn't see anyone famous. The Shrimp Sardi appetizer and pear, grape blue cheese dressing was light for pre theatre dining and very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 289Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    513
    269
    93
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kahoka, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We didn't have reservations, but got seated right away. We saw & spoke with Joan Rivers as she was leaving & we were coming into the restaurant. The food was great. The atmosphere was reminiscent of the classic days of broadway. Our wait staff was friendly - he was from Tennessee and was full of information for us on where to go. We would definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
324 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Sardi's - iconic spot in need of an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Came here after seeing a play and got the prix fix menu. My first thought, as I walked into the entrance with bits of paper around, is that the place needs a major update. Our waiter was very nice, making suggestions etc... I got the smoked salmon plate, that came with smoked salmon, capers, onions and toast. It was good and a large portion. I got the crab cakes, which were two big meaty crabcakes. They were good. The ambience is definitely old school, with the maroon walls and waiters in maroon uniforms and portraits of actors hanging on the wall. I got the rice pudding, which was just plain old rice pudding with raisins and whipped cream on top. It was all fine, of course crowded with tourists, but I just feel the whole place needs to be revamped and more exciting items put on the menu. It is expensive, but probably in line with other restaurants around the theatre district. The prix fix menu was $50. I have heard the onion soup and burgers are good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
237 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sardi's is kind of a New York must..it is rather iconic as being in several movies and shows and visited by TV,movie, and theatre actors. The walls are covered with hundreds (upstairs too) of celebrity caricatures...some very realistic and others exagerated and funny. It is fun to try and spot who is who and see if you can figure other ones out. The interior is nice and open with chandiliers, lamp sconces. The color crimson predominates with brass fixtures. We felt it was a little too bright and that the lights needed to be dimmed as this would have created a more relaxed atmosphere.
We had reservations for 8:30 on a Friday night and were seated early as it was pretty slow.
Our server was prompt, polite, and informative. Bread is served at your table as soon as you sit down and beging to look over thier pretty decent sized menu and specials. We began with the cheese plate appetizer..it was good and nothing really fancy about it (no names of the creameries from which the cheese came from) just cheddar, brie, bleu, manchego, and fresh goat cheese with some walnuts, small salad, and toasted bread.
I was disappointed because they were out of their dish of Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes so for my entree I ordered one of the Sardi's specials: Cannelloni au Gratin (A combination of Beef, Veal and Sweet Pork Sausage rolled in a French Crepe with a Sherry flavoured Tomato Cream Meat sauce) and was disappointed no longer! It was fantastic!
My partner order a vegetarian dish that is not on the menu (just ask). It was a Japanese style entree of steamed vegetables and tofu in a steamer basket served with a side of rice and a a soy teryaki sauce....it was good and a huge portion.
Dispite the no Lump Crab Cakes and the rather bright lights we enjoyed our meal at Sardi's and had a good time spotting some of our favourites celebs faces on the walls. I would difinitely come back for the Cannelloni au Gratin.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Atlas1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for group business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I took a group of 130 people for dinner. We all arrived via bus at the same time. Wonderful place to take out of town guests. It has such a NY vibe. The food was great. The waiters were fast and efficient. Sean was such a please to work with! They pulled through in every aspect!! Highly recommend!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimmarcelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardi's Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sardi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing