We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the show & tasty”
Review of Sardi's Restaurant

Sardi's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sardi's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #442 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 7th and 8th
Transit: 42nd Street Station
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Close to the show & tasty”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Food was nice. We didn't find anything spectacular but our food was good. It was nice being close to the show. We would go back if location mattered.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Go2FunFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    552
    289
    99
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great service, fast, yummy!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We only had 25 minutes to be in and out of the Restaurant because we were seeing Mamma Mia across the road (which was awesome by the way) and we asked them if there was anyway we could be out by 25 minutes - and the guy straight away put us in & let the waiter know who then advised us on how long whatever we were interested in eating would take etc - he was very helpful! We ate and were in the Broadway show across the road within 25 minutes without feeling rushed or scoffing our food it was great. And the food was great! Plus was fun looking around and trying to figure out who the cartoon of the celebrity on the wall was :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth it for the old fashioned service and amazing cartoons”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I visited Sardi's in NYC in December with my 2 teenage children . We were there for the Broadway dining experience and the cartoons .. and had checked reviews which suggested menu and food were a little below par . It was like taking a step back in time.... the decor would not have been out of place in the 50's or the menu. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the food was average but the cartoons of everyone who is anyone in show biz are really amazing .
I am sure the place could do with a modern twist to brighten up both the decor and the food while keeping the essence of why people come ....As its faded charm will not last much longer .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celticbeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Italian at its best”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were a little short of time before a broadway show, so we went for Italian, and ordered four different entrees, and one starter. All the Food was very good, and the service was super quick and the prices was right. Pasta og meat was perfectly cooked.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not even average”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We came to Sardi's as a it was close to our hotel and it was extremely could but looked fairly nice from the outside. The waiters weren't very good. Polite enough but not to the usual New York standard. It was very dated, and I couldn't work out if this was part of the "charm" or not. I didn't feel much of an atmosphere. The food was below average. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. So many nicer restaurants just round the corner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikhaila87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardi's Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sardi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing