We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sardi's Restaurant

Sardi's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sardi's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #473 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 7th and 8th
Transit: 42nd Street Station
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Having been in the arts, I've heard about Sardi's for years. It was a must try my first time in New York. I arrived for lunch and was seated promptly. It wasn't busy. The staff was very sharp and really excellent. I had a salad and a cannelloni. It was good, but nothing special. I can't say the food was worth the visit. It was just great to be there, looking at the caracitures and seeing a bit of theatre history.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jedburgh392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    522
    273
    93
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CLASSIC”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have heard so much about Sardi's that I just had to eat there. Not so much for the food but for the name. It was great. I had a steak that was delicious. My son had the salmon which he enjoyed and my daughter had some chicken dish...I don't remember which one. The caricatures were fun to look at.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robineggl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Sardi's”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

So fun to go to the famous Sardi's. Had heard of it forever, never dreaming we could get a reservation. The food and service were fabulous even though we were certainly not "famous". This really completed the "New York" experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A must go, if you can get in!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ate here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The service was top notch, the food was excellent but the atmosphere is what makes this place a must see. It helps to tip at the door to get in sooner without a reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VT_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good restaurant right before theater...”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

All the years I've lived in NY, this was my first time at Sardi's and I'm glad I did. The show stoppers are naturally all the artist pictures on the walls, it is a who's who everywhere. Very nice atmosphere, comfortable dining experience, as well as great table service. When my wife and I were there, it was right before going to a play. Busy place, but service was still very good. We had the pre-fixed dinner, which is an excellent choice right before the theater, not overly filling and at a good price. Appetizers were the spinach cannelloni au gratin and the fruitwood smoked salmon, very tasty starters. Main course was the jumbo lump crabcakes and the grilled 8oz. NY steak. Crabcakes full of lump crab meat and the steak, it's not Peter Luger's or Morton's, but ok. Dessert was the tiramiso cake and the bittersweet chocolate mousse with raspberry coulis (excellent). Coffee or tea is included in the price, it wasn't as expensive as many other restaurants in the area. Add a glass of champagne, which we did, plus the play, Trip to Bountiful and my wife birthday, WOW. I would recommend Sardi's to visiters, first timers and anyone who wants to experience the NY scene. Good restaurant, good service and within walking distance to any theater you want to go to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trainstar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardi's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sardi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing