We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sardi's Restaurant

Sardi's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sardi's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #485 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 7th and 8th
Transit: 42nd Street Station
Ashburton, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Sardi's is definitely worth visiting for the caricatures...it's fun trying to recognise the celebrity. Unfortunately, they don't seem to have been catalogue. Food nothing special, but nice enough. Service friendly and efficient - a good place for dinner before a show.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank favourites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    512
    268
    93
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

What a horrible place. I call ahead to ask if we could wear shorts. Hostess says yes of course it's casual. As we arrive to the restaurant the Maitre'D says let me take you upstairs. I informed him that my partner had hurt his foot and was unable to climb stairs. I asked him for a table in the main dining room. He said no because we were wearing shorts. He had a bit of an attitude as well. Will never return don't care how famous they are.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendall park, nj
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An institution working hard to maintain its image”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We were in the city for a show and decided to stop by for a quick lunch. The staff at Sardi's give a first impression of being slightly cool, but proved themselves in the actual service provided. I ordered the mixed seafood salad. My. Wife had the crab meat sandwich. The seafood all around was very fresh. The crab was real! Accompanied by a glass of prosecco, lunch was very nice. Browsing all the caricatures was great fun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rcherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great resturaunt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We love this place. Lots to look at. You never who you might see here. Fun to people watch. One time about 9 yrs ago there was a film crew there. The food is always great. It may be a little pricey, but you pay for the over all experience. If you are in New York you must go here at least once. Enjoy

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the visit though food can be inconsistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've visited Sardi's three times in the last eight months, coming from out-of-state each time to see a Broadway show. (We are all native NYers, but have moved in recent years.) And we really enjoy this iconic restaurant, each time finding more caricatures of celebrities, both old and new, lining the walls. The decor is perfect and has stayed true to character. Just knowing so many stars have actually been there while performing over the years adds to the experience. There is a bar upstairs and one downstairs. Our drinks on our last visit were uneven. Two of us ordered margaritas, one was okay and flavorful, the other pale and no flavor at all. There is no dinner service upstairs after 7 or 8:00. First visit, "girls night out" had salmon with lentils and cheeseburgers at our table; all nicely done, fresh and delicious. Service was high-level, courteous and knowledgable staff from reservations through meal. Took our picture for us. Next time, visit with grandsons, we chose the same food and were very satisfied. Great waiter conversed and joked with grandsons and made us feel special. Last visit was 10 siblings, so a big party, server polite and efficient, but they had run out of the scallops special we wanted so ordered onion soup (not too salty, which most onion soup is way too salty, not much bread on top but too much cheese) and lump meat crabcakes, which were 99% breading and completely flavorless. Pork chops are large and great tasting. Spaghetti was flavorful and satisfying. Shrimp very tasty and filling. So ask questions and order carefully. Also a little "excitement" when the table next to us had a wallet stolen out of a purse by someone sitting at the table behind us. Turned out police had been following the thief through three resturants and were immediately on the scene along with restaurant personnel. The wallet was retrieved and thief apprended quickly and quietly. Staff and police returned and checked on victim's table as well as other tables to reassure us. All in all, we really like this restaurant and plan to visit again every time we are in NYC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardi's Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sardi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing