We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favorite”
Review of Sardi's Restaurant

Sardi's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sardi's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #444 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 7th and 8th
Transit: 42nd Street Station
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The only reason I didn't give an "excellent" to this restaurant is that it needs sprucing up.
Been going in here off and on for 30years and I always enjoy it but it's time for new chairs
at the tables.....plus a little more. Don't get me wrong...this is truly a piece of New York
history and I love the vintage feel but it just needs some fixin' here and there.
I always find the food very good......service is wonderful and they still have a bathroom attendent.
(I like that.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinnerand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    552
    289
    99
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Walked in without a booking at a VERY busy (pre-theatre) time but was accommodated quickly. Staff were very friendly and super efficient. Ordered a chicken club for my son off main menu but our waiter suggested we take a smaller portion for him.... Still huge!! I had a bowl of scallop and mussle bisque which was absolutely delicious, both myself and my 12 yr d exclaimed 'oh my god' at the taste. Lovely big portions of char grilled pork chop(S) and half a salmon in a glaze. All delicious. My only minor grumble may be the speed of service between starter and main, a bit too quick but at theatre time they probably think efficient is required. Would go back... Even if only for the soup!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Specialkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner before or after theater”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location makes it seem like part of the theater experience, but, of couse, it's good here all the time. When I was a little girl and many of the television shows originated out of New York, I would hear of Sardi's. What is so amazing is that the food, drinks, and service are still drawing people and deservedly so. This is an elegant, excellent restaurant. This is what a restaurant is supposed to be like. White linens, attentive wait-staff, excellent table service, killer drinks that are well made, and fabulous food at great prices. There's a reason this place has been in the theater district for over 90 years. Don't miss it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you've never dined at Sardi's, you should google Sardi's history to truly appreciate it's place in the NYC theater scene. We had a party of 6 and received great service. We weren't sure what to expect regarding the quality of the food, but we all thought the food was excellent. The caricatures are fun to see and the atmosphere was very lively and upbeat. They were very nice and accomodating to the children in our group. We were afraid it might be too "touristy", but it wasn't at all. We felt like we were stepping back in history - in a good way. The modern/trendy NYC restaurants are great too, but Sardi's is truly a classic. It was a great evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Theatre District Antique”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Sardi's it seems has always been there. Great caricatures of the famous guests, and very good italain food. Nice little bar for a quick drink too. If you come to the theatre district stop here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardi's Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sardi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing