We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good BBQ in Times Square area”

Virgil's Real BBQ -Time Square
Reserve with OpenTable
Virgil's Real BBQ -Time Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #343 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway and 44th
Transit: LOCATED ON WEST 44TH STREET BET. BROADWAY AND 6TH AVE. A,B,D,E,F,1,2,3,N,R,Q,W. TRAINS to 42nd street times square.
Description: Virgil's Real Barbecue has been acclaimed as one of America's top 10 BBQ restaurants. Established 1994, Virgil's meats are smoked at a low temperature over indirect heat for up to ten hours with a unique mix of hickory, oak and fruit woods in order to impart the most flavor. Virgil's Real BBQ is located in Times Square, New York.
Orinda, California
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good BBQ in Times Square area”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stumbled upon this place after a show on Broadway. We had kids and it was late, but this place seated us quickly and we had great food. The prices were very reasonable and the BBQ was delicious...their special french fries and hush puppies were especially good. Not diet food, but just down home good BBQ!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kesslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,289
    1,375
    473
    134
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food was good, waiter was great!!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, my husband had the BBQ 1/2chicken. The chicken breast was very juicy and tender with a smoky flavor, he ordered the potato salad and collards which were pretty good per his his taste, I didn't taste either but I do recommend the 1/2 chicken. I ordered the pulled pork, baked beans and slaw, the beans and slaw were pretty good, the BBQ was good, after tasting the chicken, would recommend the chicken over the BBQ....that's a individual taste preference. The cornbread was actually a small corn muffin and pretty tasty. The waiter "Elvis" was the highlight for me hahahahaha, he was very friendly and attentive to my husband and I. Overall this was a good experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a must visit !!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

fab staff and food , love the hush puppies for starters ! defo recommend a visit , just near hotel shows how good a place is when busy an not on main road for easy access

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pauline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good BBQ for a decent price”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This has become a post theater tradition for us. Very good BBQ - not fancy but they got the sauces down. Texas chili is unique with brisket in it. A bowl is a meal. Wings taste great with smoke and spice flavors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not my style”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Lots of American friends have extolled the virtues of the American BBQ experience, however for me this is not a great way to eat. The quality of the meat itself was fine, but what did that poor pig do to end up getting "pulled"? I avoid Hogs Breath restaurants in Australia and cant see myself heading back to Virgil's in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgil's Real BBQ -Time Square also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Virgil's Real BBQ -Time Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing