We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but poor service!”

Virgil's Real Barbecue
Reserve with OpenTable
Virgil's Real Barbecue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #385 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway and 44th
Transit: LOCATED ON WEST 44TH STREET BET. BROADWAY AND 6TH AVE. A,B,D,E,F,1,2,3,N,R,Q,W. TRAINS to 42nd street times square.
Description: We are a much decorated Home-style BBQ restaurant located in the heart of Times Square, at the crossroads of the world.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,048 reviews
1,158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,801 helpful votes
“Great food but poor service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nobody does BBQ food like Americans, so wanted to try when in New York. Just down from our hotel, we went here for lunch. Plenty of staff, but took an age to get our order placed.
Ribs, chicken wings & train crash fries were all excellent, so worth waiting for. Massive portions!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,217
    1,322
    456
    130
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“A BBQ Feast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

What can I say, if you like BBQ food, you will absolutely love Virgil's but make sure that you come extremely hungry as the portion sizes are huge - even by American standards; one of our main meals would have served 2 people!!

I personally ordered Virgil's BBQ Salad (Barbecued Pulled Chicken, Carolina Pulled Pork, Sliced Texas Beef Brisket) and it was amazing, Our waiter was efficient and friendly and helped to explain the menu items and how we could adapt them to suit our requirements (no dressing etc). The cornbread is to die for and the 2 sides that my friends got as standard when they ordered their meals from 'The Favourites' menu are lethal as they're so delicious you want to eat it all despite your stomach objecting to the BBQ overload!

I would recommend this place to anyone who is in New York and wants a hearty meal in friendly and welcoming surroundings - also, some tables are positioned by the windows enabling you to watch New York 'going on' beneath you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sunshine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

When a stocky gentleman comes to your table and introduces himself as Sunshine, we soon knew our waiter was not your average BBQ slinger.

We called for reservations but they said nothing was available until after 7:30. When we showed up at 5:30 thinking of long lines and endless waiting, there were a multitude of tables available so not sure why the telephone brush off. We wanted a nice meal before our 8pm theater date and since there was NO WAIT whatsoever, we were in and out in an hour. STUFFED!

The Baby Back ribs were way too much for the average appetite....go for the half rack. The Banana Pudding dessert was rich but 100% authentic as a homemade specialty.

Look for Sunshine! As he slides your plate to the table, you will notice the glittered nail polish but don't shy away....his attentiveness as a Virgil waiter complimented his professional and courteous delivery of our meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited Virgil's after reading reviews and found that it did not leave up to our expectations
The portions were small, service was poor and the food was poorer
The place is aimed purely at tourists and did not offer anything special
If looking for a true NY rib experience I would advise to try elsewhere

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leannet2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“AMAZING Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stopped here for dinner one night during our 5 day trip. We waited about 15 minutes for a table but as soon as we were seated we were amazed by how fast and friendly the service was!

The food was decent. We ordered and shared the grilled veggie salad and pig out platter. Everything tasted good but the ribs were a little underwhelming.

If you are looking to be in and out of a restaurant quick on a friday night this is the place for you!

Helpful?
Thank Traceyblum
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Virgil's Real Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Virgil's Real Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing