We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great post theater dinner!”
Review of Mont Blanc - CLOSED

Mont Blanc
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Ave
Transit: Train: C, E to 50th Street/8th Ave - walk south two blocks. B, D, F to 47-50/Rockefeller Center/6th Ave. Bus: M6 to 7th Ave/53rd Street M10, M20, M27, M50, M104 to 50th Street/8th Ave.
Glastonbury, CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great post theater dinner!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was intrigued by reviews we saw of the fondue at Mont Blanc so made an Open Table reservation to visit post theater. Service was great, seafood fondue and dipping sauces were yummy (too much to finish so we "fondued" up the leftovers and took them home to finish later), enjoyed salad and potato pancake, and wrapped it up with the chocolate fondue dessert--also yummy! And of course had to try the fruit infused martinis--both pear and mango were delish.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPamCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    69
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Theatre district gem”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food and great service. Portions are very generous and very good. We both had a very good onion soup, followed by a complementary salad, and then for the main we had veal bratwurst and veal cordon bleu. Both portions were generous and very very good. Highlight though was the roesti potatoes they served for us to share. Absolutely the best roesti I've ever had and I travel regularly between the US and Switzerland and never had better roesti. Other NY restaurants that serve roesti should send their chef here to learn how to do it. Highly recommended. Bring a good appetite. Besides great food and service prices are moderate.

Helpful?
Thank davidlillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“needs”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

the menu is broad, the food was good, but 2 old Austrians run the place and have forgotten how to smile (pretty cold and unplesant)
They must be pretty unhappy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbarkMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Friendly Welcome awaited”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having stayed in New York for Christmas we had tried a different restaurant each night until we discovered Maria's Mont Blanc Restaurant. This was the first which warranted a return visit.

On our second visit to the Mont Blanc we were welcomed by Maria who remembered us from our previous visit. The waiter remembered what we had eaten and our drinks and treated us like the locals who regularly visit the Mont Blanc.

Having previously encountered some rude shop assistants and restuarant staff during our stay in New York it was refreshing to dine in such a warm friendly atmosphere.

We will certainly be recommending the Mont Blanc to friends who will be visiting New York and will definitely return at the next opportunity.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Fantastic steak, great atmosphere, a little homely gem in the theatre district. The staff are friendly but not the usual over zealous American types who use the word "awesome" at the drop of a hat. Nice little bar as well with a ' generous pour'

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MerseysideSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mont Blanc also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing