We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in US, and maybe the world”
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bernardin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Lake Charles, LA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in US, and maybe the world”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Eric Ripert rivals many of the great chefs in Europe. I recently sampled 16 dishes and 5 appetizers, and I am hard pressed to express any criticism. Least favorite was the salmon - nothing was wrong with it, and many in my party loved it, but to my taste, there were many other superstars. The standouts among the stars include the clam (tiragi), the lobster lasagna w/ truffles and the white tuna w/ kobe beef. Add to the mind-blowing food the superb service and pleasant atmosphere, and Mr. Ripert has accomplished a MIchelin three star performance.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GRtraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,054
    382
    191
    59
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“excellent and exquisite”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Everything very good, a memorable dinner, one of the best in New York. Nice wine list, and helpful staff, no doubts it is a well spend time and money..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical Dinner”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

From the moment we walked in the door, to the walk to the theater, everything was perfect. We enjoyed one of the taste menus, with wine pairings. It was just perfect!. The service was amongst the best I've ever experienced. Although I enjoyed the evening with my amazing daughter, it would have been perfect for a romantic dinner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Service was superb as usual, However, I thought the seasoning lacked a little bit this time. But everything was as fresh as you can image and wonderful. you can never not enjoy the food here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JTEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I have dined at Le Bernardin several times for lunches and dinners over the years, and have always been impressed with the consistent quality of the food and service as well as the serene ambiance. I'm not sure if it's possible to improve upon what is a practically perfect experience, though this time the food seemed even more sublime than usual, and the wine pairings married even more harmoniously with the food. We went all out with the Chef's Tasting Menu and it was worth every cent. It would be impossible to pick only one dish as the best, however, unless you don't eat meat, the "surf and turf" which consisted of a white tuna that literally melted in your mouth, paired with a juicy, succulent chunk of Kobe beef, is not to be missed. We were celebrating a special occasion with a dear nephew who was visiting the city for a conference and they brought a special dessert and made him feel as special as he is, so we couldn't be happier to have chosen Le Bernardin. We're already talking about when we might return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAM1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing