We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish Heaven”
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bernardin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fish Heaven”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

As good as fish gets! Period. A little bit pricey, but the lunch special is a good value for the quality.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,055
    382
    193
    59
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Disappointing”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I agree with other comments that Le Bernardin disappoints for a 3-star restaurant. 1 or 2 stars maybe, but the level of service, lack of innovation in the food, and the nondescript feel of the dining room left our party feeling disappointed. Service felt rushed and perfunctory. Having dined at many top restaurants in the city (Jean Georges, Daniel, 11 Madison Park, the Modern, etc.) I don't recall feeling quite so underwhelmed by a restaurant of this caliber. The food never rose above just good. The worst offense -- after our party of 4 had each enjoyed a round of cocktails, an expensive bottle of wine and our meals, virtually as soon as we put our dessert forks down, the check arrived, unrequested. We had been seated for less than 2 hours. We felt it was quite an inhospitable way to end an $850 meal. Good for the expense account crowd but there are many better choices for a special night out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eeny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
218 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Justifies its top ranking in Zagat!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We used our recent visit to NY to come again to this outstanding eating establishemt. As always, we were not disappointed. The variety and quality of the fish dishes are excepional. Service is at the highest level. While not cheap, one gets excellent value for money. A must visit for gourmet food lovers!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafood”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you love seafood you will love Le Bernadin. I would eat here if you gave me a loaf of bread and just the sauces they serve with their fish dishes. That does not mean that the fish prep is not exquisite but he sauces are amazing. Not overdone yet bursting with flavor. Of course we appreciate the excellent European service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LaRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Mrs O is always a little nervous when I choose the restaurant when we're on tour but I had heard good things about this place so fingers were crossed it lived up to expectation. I hadn't awarded a US fine dining restaurant full marks until now, as although the standard of cooking is up there with the best in Europe there always seems to be a finesse and sophistication missing. Until now. The four course menu is culinary finesse in all of its senses. The description of the second course as 'barely touched' perfectly describes the light, delicate presentation of the seafood with artistic presentation from the front of house team that seemed to have been choreographed on nearby broadway. We ate in the lounge which serves the main dining room menu but perhaps allows for more informal though no less impressive service. At $400 dollars for two it isn't for every weekend but represents good value for an overall experience I cannot recall being bettered in Paris, London or Tenerife. Mrs O says it was the best dessert she had ever eaten, high praise indeed considering it was my choice of restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing