We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every Michelin Star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bernardin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 13,489 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
152 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth every Michelin Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I just traveled to New York with another couple and we were looking forward to our dinner reservation at Le Bernardin. The service, food, wine, and ambience of the experience was exceptional. Our table had the Le Bernardin tasting menu with paired wines (HIGHLY recommend!). Despite knowing how high of standards this restaurant has, I did not find a single flaw in our service. Our water glasses were full at every moment during dinner and our courses were delivered promptly after the previous one finished. All this happened seamlessly.

French food at its finest. Will definitely be back someday.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OkieJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,998
    376
    186
    59
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Out of this world Seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Le Bernardin is one for the record books. Our smoked salmon amuse-bouche was a great way to start off an excellent meal. Although my first course wasn't too good (sea urchin and bone marrow) it was probably too courageous to try two things whose textures I don't agree with very well. However, the star course more than made up for this, the blackened sea bass. It had just the right amount of crispy skin and decadent meat with a citrusy broth that was too good to be true! Definitely the best piece of fish I have ever had. I will no doubt return to this fine seafood establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
325 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great culinary experience in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Le Bernardin is on every critic's list of the 10 best restaurants in New York City, usually in first or second place, so we decided to try it on our recent visit to the city. It is listed as a French - seafood restaurant, and the motif is strictly fish and seafood as it has only 3 non fish or seafood dishes on the menu and they are listed as "on request".
Everything about our meal was absolutely perfect. The menu is split into 3 categories - first course, "almost raw"; second course, "barely touched"; and the main course, "lightly cooked". The evening prix-fixe menu is 4 courses for $130. The service was excellent without being overbearing.
All the dishes we had were original and just perfect. We had the chef’s opening snack, which included marinated salmon and 2 other tidbits which I can’t remember what they were now, but I do remember that they were delicious. My appetizer was described on the menu as "layers of thinly pounded yellowfin tuna, foie gras and toasted baguette, chives and olive oil". Attached is a picture. The dish was incredible. The foie gras and baguette are hiding beneath the yellowfin tuna. The tastes combined perfectly and the dish was heavenly. In another picture I have attached, was pan roasted lobster, charred baby leeks, sea bean and mango salad, with lobster - lemongrass broth. The red rings on the plate are thick slices of the lobster tail, each residing in its own slice of shell. There were other dishes of course, and they were all perfect.
It’s expensive, but worth every penny! It was exactly what we expected from a restaurant in NYC with 3 Michelin stars!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sssteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
254 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“One of those rarified experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We embarked on the trip to Le Bernardin as part of our extraordinary dining weekend. Having had lunch at La Grenouille we were worried about two such amazing restaurants in one day being over saturation but felt up to the task as we'd given some time between.
Walking in off 51st left the clamor and clutter of near Times Square behind us. It's a lovely room and the host stand tended to by friendly staff who pointed us to the bar to wait for our table. The bartender was knowledgeable and made a great gin martini. The bar snacks consist of candied walnuts, nori wrapped rice crackers and spicy popcorn.
Once escorted to the table we decided to order individually and share rather than have a tasting menu. Standouts included caviar, scallops, langoustines and monkfish. Sommeliers are friendly and actually she was the one consistent presence throughout. The one negative comment is that there are so many servers it is hard to tell who is coming or going.
Le Bernardin is a landmark institution and foodies should put it on their list of destination spots.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was truly a magical experience. The presentation of the food to the great service and the helpful som were all the things that made the experience great. Attention to detail was superb. We had a very long delicious lunch and even added an extra course. It was expensive but worth it and we would absolutely go again. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing