We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world Seafood!”
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Ranked #11 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Out of this world Seafood!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Le Bernardin is one for the record books. Our smoked salmon amuse-bouche was a great way to start off an excellent meal. Although my first course wasn't too good (sea urchin and bone marrow) it was probably too courageous to try two things whose textures I don't agree with very well. However, the star course more than made up for this, the blackened sea bass. It had just the right amount of crispy skin and decadent meat with a citrusy broth that was too good to be true! Definitely the best piece of fish I have ever had. I will no doubt return to this fine seafood establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,102
    396
    194
    60
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great culinary experience in NYC”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Le Bernardin is on every critic's list of the 10 best restaurants in New York City, usually in first or second place, so we decided to try it on our recent visit to the city. It is listed as a French - seafood restaurant, and the motif is strictly fish and seafood as it has only 3 non fish or seafood dishes on the menu and they are listed as "on request".
Everything about our meal was absolutely perfect. The menu is split into 3 categories - first course, "almost raw"; second course, "barely touched"; and the main course, "lightly cooked". The evening prix-fixe menu is 4 courses for $130. The service was excellent without being overbearing.
All the dishes we had were original and just perfect. We had the chef’s opening snack, which included marinated salmon and 2 other tidbits which I can’t remember what they were now, but I do remember that they were delicious. My appetizer was described on the menu as "layers of thinly pounded yellowfin tuna, foie gras and toasted baguette, chives and olive oil". Attached is a picture. The dish was incredible. The foie gras and baguette are hiding beneath the yellowfin tuna. The tastes combined perfectly and the dish was heavenly. In another picture I have attached, was pan roasted lobster, charred baby leeks, sea bean and mango salad, with lobster - lemongrass broth. The red rings on the plate are thick slices of the lobster tail, each residing in its own slice of shell. There were other dishes of course, and they were all perfect.
It’s expensive, but worth every penny! It was exactly what we expected from a restaurant in NYC with 3 Michelin stars!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sssteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“One of those rarified experiences”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We embarked on the trip to Le Bernardin as part of our extraordinary dining weekend. Having had lunch at La Grenouille we were worried about two such amazing restaurants in one day being over saturation but felt up to the task as we'd given some time between.
Walking in off 51st left the clamor and clutter of near Times Square behind us. It's a lovely room and the host stand tended to by friendly staff who pointed us to the bar to wait for our table. The bartender was knowledgeable and made a great gin martini. The bar snacks consist of candied walnuts, nori wrapped rice crackers and spicy popcorn.
Once escorted to the table we decided to order individually and share rather than have a tasting menu. Standouts included caviar, scallops, langoustines and monkfish. Sommeliers are friendly and actually she was the one consistent presence throughout. The one negative comment is that there are so many servers it is hard to tell who is coming or going.
Le Bernardin is a landmark institution and foodies should put it on their list of destination spots.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch !”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was truly a magical experience. The presentation of the food to the great service and the helpful som were all the things that made the experience great. Attention to detail was superb. We had a very long delicious lunch and even added an extra course. It was expensive but worth it and we would absolutely go again. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fish and seafood”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a lunch here and enjoyed it a lot.
From the smoked salmon amuse, scallop starter and monkfish all perfectly cooked and with great favors.
Service was really good in general but perhaps a little lacking this personal feeling. Overall very professional and good attention to details though. Atmosphere for a high end three star restaurant, perfect.
Bread and butters were also nice, not so surprisingly.
For me, I would absolutely go back for lunch, however, might just pass on the dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zebbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing