We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bernardin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Words can't describe the culinary experience that one encounters having the chef tasting. It was the best dining experience my wife and I have ever had; from service, food quality and uniqueness of the dishes, it was worth the money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,055
    382
    193
    59
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

What Eric Ripert does with food from the water is other worldly! I really cant say enough except don't hesitate to go and prepare to have one of the best meals of your life! If you can't get in at dinner, lunch is wonderful too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielleinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My favorite restaurant in the City. Pricey but excellent. Service quietly excellent. You cannot go wrong with any entree

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyDoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Treat for the tastebuds”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have you ever had food in your mouth that was so good that you didn't want to swallow? That's what my lunch was like at this restaurant. We got in just as it started to rain and were immediately shown to the lounge section; a jacket is required for the main dining room.
We opted for the prix-fixe City Harvest three-course meal and it was incredible. We had scallops, shrimp, skate, salmon, black forest and a selection of sorbets for dessert. The scallops were marinated in a sweet sour grape juice with extra virgin olive oil and a yuzu vinegratte. The different flavours had a party in my mouth. This is served with thin slices of crisp bread. A soy, ginger and butter sauce came with the perfectly barely cooked salmon and another party took off on my tongue. The cucumber verjus sauce that came with the skate was polished off too.
While the sorbets were special, the deconstructed black forest, with the various elements that make it up served separately on the plate was sensational. It's how I eat regular black forest anyway.
Brooklyn Bee was a great cocktail and the glass of Greek wine I had with my meal was very good too. Service was impeccable to match the food. A repeat visits is definitely on the cards. My taste buds can't wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paddykhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great French Restaurant”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Business dinner on August Saturday night. Pleasant dining room, very attentive and friendly, not overbearing,
The food was definitely tasty and the chef very creative.The wine list with great options.
A great dining experience ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing