We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously fancy.”
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bernardin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Deliciously fancy.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

You've got to experience a Michelin starred restaurant at least once in your life, and my boyfriend and I opted to do just that in NY. Our first impression was that we were under dressed (compounded by the offer of a dinner jacket to use the dining room). We opted to eat in the lounge to avoid having to dress up, and chose a selection of dishes from the menu including a lobster bisque and tuna tartar. We shared about 5 dishes in total, with wine recommended by the house. The service here is impeccable, as you would expect and the prices reflect the service and food you receive, although my boyfriend did manage to select a $38 dollar whiskey from the bar, so be warned there are some expensive drinks hidden on those glass shelves.
Overall, the food was excellent if a little sophisticated for our palettes and we're glad we experienced fine dining in such a great restaurant, but we wouldn't go back as it's a little out of our league.
Should also add that the maitre d' was very kind (and not patronising) in explaining the dishes, accompanying wines and best way to enjoy our food & drink.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oodelallyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,057
    382
    193
    59
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Vraiment parfait”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is the epitome of the ultimate, superlative seafood experience -- every dish is just perfect and a palette sensation. Service is extraordinary. Consider it fine dining at its best in every course of the degustation.

So, give yourself over to Chef Eric Ripare and Sommelier Aldo Sohm and be prepared to be wowed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I just visited Le Bernardin for the third time recently, and I have to say it just keeps getting better and better. It is my favorite restaurant in the US (haven't been to Per Se, but have been to the French Laundry). To me, it is perfection from start to finish. The staff is fantastic: friendly, profession, and not condescending or snooty. They are professionals who notice every detail and do their job.

The food is just simply the best seafood there is. Every dish is made in a way to show off the best attributes of the fish. I have gotten the same starter, the pounded tuna, all three times I've visited. That dish alone is worth a visit. This time for entrees, I had the skate while my husband had the monkfish. Both were excellent.

The wine service was great. One of the three sommeliers working at lunch helped us choose perfect pairings for our food.

Yes, Le Bernardin is expensive, but at least you truly get what you pay for here. I cannot wait to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“The quintisential seafood restaurant in New York City”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Its been 12 years since I last went to Le Bernadin, and really it felt exactly as vibrant in terms of the food as it was then. The amuse bouche in particular was exquisite and all four courses were exactly a point.
It was also pleasing to see a good wine list with wines that were reasonably priced for the quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
302 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Still most superb seafood retaurant in NYC”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had dinner at Le Bernardin Friday evening and it was superb! The interior had been updated very nicely, and the staff and service was as good & professional as past experiences. every dish ordered by 4 people was extraordinary! Nice to see everyone in the restaurant dressed more formally. This restaurant must go on everyone's list of must tries in their life! It is ultra expensive, but truly worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing