We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Fish Heaven”
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Ranked #11 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
wien
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“This is Fish Heaven”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

this was the best dinner this year in NYC
Not only is the food superb also the ambiente ist striking.
the service was also outstandig (the sommeliere from our home country Austria and another staff member also from Austria) we enjoyed the evening.
One of the first time experiences was the sea urchin on bone marrow
Ok perhaps not everybodys thing, but we really loved it.
and the row marinated Fish with lots of japanese components also a hit.
Afterwards I realized this restaurant is amongst the 3 top favorites in nyc
and this does not come as a surpise.
For the quality and what you get not even so expensive.
we will come back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henriette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,102
    396
    194
    60
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but very expensive dinner”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It is elegant, the staff is formal but not stuffy. Food was good but I was not overwhelmed. Lobster lasagna was delicious, raw tuna was very good and nice portion of lamb chops plus dessert was $167? Wine is very pricey, the $25 cheese upgrade was good but too much money. It is an experience, I enjoyed it but will not be back. Been there, done that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordighera, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been last year And i personally love it! Atmosphere,Service And food !!! The price is worth !! This plance is much Better than Daniel... To expensive And nothing special

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elisa_1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband, young daughter and myself ate at this restaurant about a year and a half ago. I hope its better now. I thought the atmosphere was sniffy and the food we ordered pathetic. I would never go there again. Our lunch menu came out in teeny portions and tasteless. We had a very nice waiter, but then when we got our bill, we were obliged to give him the tip he deserved for the total tab, which was for the three of us, over $200.00 and left still hungry with that huge bill and lofty tip for, really the dullest and most medicore meal I can remember. The next day, my daughter and I had lunch at a local Italian Restaurant in Park Slope, Brooklyn that came to about $22.00 for the two of us, and it was so delicious, fresh and plentiful, I couldn't help marking the contrast. There is nothing remarkable about Le Bernadin but what they charge their patrons, and its not worth it. You can have a much better meal if you just walk around and try other places.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aim2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
720 reviews
595 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Grown Ups Serving Serious Foods To Grown Ups”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Grown ups serving grown ups in a room where you don't have to make new friends and with food that melts in your mouth. When it's all said and done, $200/person with one round of drinks......we aren't wine people. Dinner last night was SUBLIME. Especially the 3rd course salmon. WOW. This is a wonderful place to quietly linger over dinner with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing