We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST of the BEST in NYC”
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Ranked #11 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The BEST of the BEST in NYC”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Well if you want the best meal of your life, served elegantly then make a reservation at this restaurant. If you can't get in for dinner then reserve a table for lunch, which is what we did on our recent trip to the Big Apple. The menu is prix fixed and each course is so unforgettably delicious that we didn't want the lunch to end. This place has been around a long time and the restaurant still maintains the highest quality food. Go there. Treat yourself! You only live once.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,102
    396
    194
    60
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent special occasion place for seafood. Traditional fine dining circa 1980s”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Consistently one of the great highlights for traditional "old world" fine dining. I deducted one star for their disregard of sustainable seafood choices as well as the fact that the octopus was overly salted. Whomever makes their citrus recipes knows balance and nuance, wow! Great wine selection including many reasonable options by the glass. Although we had the chef tasting menu, many dietary issues were accommodated with aplomb. Our pocket book didn't allow for the wine pairing I could only imagine how fab that would have been.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Manhattan restaurant”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Le Bernardin had excellent food, well prepared and beautifully served. Servers were friendly and attentive. Nicely decorated. A bit pricey, but well worth it to splurge on!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A fish-lover's paradise”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This pricey, elegant restaurant is not for everyone, but if you love fish and seafood, don't mind formal (jackets required for gentlemen) and can afford it, Le Bernardin is a treasure. The dining room is spacious and graced with huge flower arrangements. The portions are not big, but the food is exquisitely prepared and presented. Every bite is delectable. Our most recent meal there was a 3-course celebratory lunch at which we treated ourselves to glasses of Champagne. The prix-fixe menu was $72/person, but each of us had the lobster goulash entrée, which had a supplementary charge of $15. There are also tasting menus available at higher prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dobbstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“splendid”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I went for the fixed price luncheon and thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere was calm and refined but not stuffy. There was a mix of locals and tourists, groups and couples. My partner and I seemed to be one of the very few who sampled each other's dishes. Perhaps this was our faux pas, but how could one not want to sample as much as possible? The sauces were divine. The scallop carpaccio appetizer and halibut entree were my favorites. Normally I have a great weakness for desserts, but if I have any criticism, the desserts would be it. Neither one I tried was on par with the rest of the meal. Certainly they were nice, but just not on the same level of wow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sladana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing