We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Ranked #11 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Went for my Wife's birthday. Had a wonderful meal - went for the a la carte menu - the food was memorable with some amazing individual flavours being apparent in seemingly simple dishes. It all seemed incredibly fresh light and clean tasting and yet filling at the same time. The only downsides were an eyewateringly expensive wine list and service that was simply too fast - you were left feeling that as you finished your last mouthful you plate was taken and the neat course arrived - it was meant to be a special occasion not a race!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,102
    396
    194
    60
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“winendine”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We ate at Le Bernardin mid-week. It was bustling but not overly crowded. The service was a bit intrusive - agree with other reviewers. There's nothing relaxing about eating here. Food was excellent - except for the skate my husband ordered: accompanying oysters overpowered the fish, he said. Disappointed. Langostinos were superb; scallops wonderful. Perfect portion size for us - not overdone at all. Atmosphere was more contemporary than we expected - but we both liked it. Great mural on the back wall. All in all, a worthwhile dining experience (but it would be nice if the staff learned how to use $100 denomination AmEx cash cards; you can't try to put through $200 at a time on one card, then report back to the customer "these aren't working." At least they knew how to use a regular AmEx charge card...)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DandR5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“NEARLY EXCELLENT”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had lunch at the last seating. good and bad. food as always is perfection and harmonious. sommeliers and waiters started out doting but then as in a broadway intermission everyone just vanished for 20-30 minutes with a paucity of serving staff for all the other diners. We tried the tasting menu $147/pp, wine $70ish. every dish was one where you are wowed and determine it to be one for the memories. however the service is much to be desired especailly at these prices. I think Chef Ripert needs to re-evaluate the wait staff and have some mystery diners to assure the experience does not slide.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Enjoyed a delicious lunch yesterday. The meal was served in a well timed and professional manner. The presentation and taste were enjoyed as well as the surrounding decor.
Now, onto some other fine restaurants in the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jared F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good meal, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We visited this restaurant as a recommendation by our cousin and we were excited for a great seafood meal. The restaurant has a very nice decor and would make a great romantic meal. The food however was only on par with a typical fine dining establishment. Unfortunately for them we had ate at Brooklyn Fare only a few days earlier and their food was still on our minds. Don't get me wrong, the food was excellent and prepared well. It just wasn't as memorable as our experience at Brooklyn Fare. We would happily dine here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing