We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whisky Lovers delight”
Review of St. Andrews - CLOSED

St. Andrews
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th & 7th Ave
Transit: St Andrews is accessible from the Times Square subway stop, 1,2,3,7,A,E,C,N,Q,R. The N line stops at 49th Street and 7th Ave. Also Grand Central is only 3 blocks away, 4,5,6,7. The B,D,F is available at 46th and 6th Avenue.
Description: The traditions and flavors of Scotland now have an outpost in New York City at St Andrews Restaurant and Bar, a mid priced steak and seafood restaurant that also serves authentic Scottish fare. St Andrews is the perfect location for pre or post theatre dinner, a business lunch or casual meeting place for friends.We specialise in Scotch pairing dinners and can customise a menu for any event. The regal interior is decorated with classic photos, prints and tartan fabrics imported directly from Scotland , and invites you to sit back an enjoy our authentic Scottish fare such as haggis or cock-a-leekie soup served by our warm and friendly staff. St Andrews is also home of the kilted bartenders serving our vast range of global beers and over 250 single malts.Join us for a dram by the open fire anytime. Please see our website,www.standrewsnyc.com for more details.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Whisky Lovers delight”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had dinner with some business colleagues following New York whisky fest and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food and the overall ambience of the place.
Great selection of Scotch Whisky & Bourbon and good fresh quality beers
Food was a mixture of Scottish & American favourites and was above average quality with the usual large portions that would feed double the amount of people

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WerdnerR302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Andrew, I am thrilled to hear you found us after whisky fest! I'm even happier to hear the complimentary feedback! I hope you'll come in for another dram and a meal again soon!
Thank you again.
Kate
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    205
    81
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food and drink”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Not particularly authentic Scottish food, the cock a leekie soup was chicken and spring onion clear broth. Shrimp cocktail was good, it had 4 giant shrimps and a sauce which was lovely with a hint of wasabi. Hot beef sandwich was good and plenty of it too. Price for 2 starters, 3 mains and 3 drinks $100. Oh and they sell Crabbies alcoholic ginger beer :-). Would I go back? Yes, probably.

Helpful?
Thank Ralphco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! We look forward to serving you again soon!!
-Kate
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice guinness & choice of food”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had the fish dish of the day whoch was very good especially the lobster it came with. My husband had ribs & chips which was large & tasty.
Food was a mixture of American & English/Scottish.
We sat upstairs but you can sit down in the bar area as there are tables there.
Good service & choice of beers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyq7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for the feedback Jenny! I hope you come see us again.
-Kate
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just off the anarchy of Time Square lies this haven. As a British couple (one half English, one half Scottish) we were slightly embarrassed to be visiting a Scottish bar/restaurant as our first meal in NYC. It was short lived. The draft beer was delicious and fresh tasting, and the food was certainly above average. I ordered the grilled bass with cous cous and pesto, and it was one of the finest fish plates I've ever had the pleasure of eating. The staff were efficient and courteous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Tom, thank you for taking the time to write about your dining experience. I'm so glad you were able to escape the hustle and bustle of Times Square and have an enjoyable meal at St. Andrews. I hope you come in again next time you are in New York. We look forward to serving you!
-Kate
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

It seems like a stylish bar but its top quality restaurant too. Its kitchen is open till late. Good music and service is an extra.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi David! I'm happy to read that you thouroughly enjoyed St. Andrews and I thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. Come see us again soon!
-Kate
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Andrews also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing