We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips are delicious.”
Review of St. Andrews - CLOSED

St. Andrews
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th & 7th Ave
Transit: St Andrews is accessible from the Times Square subway stop, 1,2,3,7,A,E,C,N,Q,R. The N line stops at 49th Street and 7th Ave. Also Grand Central is only 3 blocks away, 4,5,6,7. The B,D,F is available at 46th and 6th Avenue.
Description: The traditions and flavors of Scotland now have an outpost in New York City at St Andrews Restaurant and Bar, a mid priced steak and seafood restaurant that also serves authentic Scottish fare. St Andrews is the perfect location for pre or post theatre dinner, a business lunch or casual meeting place for friends.We specialise in Scotch pairing dinners and can customise a menu for any event. The regal interior is decorated with classic photos, prints and tartan fabrics imported directly from Scotland , and invites you to sit back an enjoy our authentic Scottish fare such as haggis or cock-a-leekie soup served by our warm and friendly staff. St Andrews is also home of the kilted bartenders serving our vast range of global beers and over 250 single malts.Join us for a dram by the open fire anytime. Please see our website,www.standrewsnyc.com for more details.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Everyone really enjoyed their food and great beer to choose from. Service was very attentive and we would go back for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank K2R2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for the review! I'm glad everyone enjoyed their meals and we hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 401 of 543 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stopped by here on recommendation from a friend, after a bit of shopping and on the way to the MOMA with my daughter. Pleasant service, window seat upstairs, and good food. Daughter enjoyed the crabcake sandwich, I had the sandwich special (Chicken breast, black forest ham, roasted veggie and pesto--soo good!). We'll be back, so I can enjoy a beer from the extensive list in the very cozy pub area.

1  Thank Dante81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review St. Andrews. It is great to hear your experience was such a positive one. We strive to always offer quality food and service and I am glad you found that we reached our goal. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were seated upstairs in the open air room overlooking the street - great atmosphere! As we entered we informed the hostess that we had one hour for dinner before our show and the staff made certain we were out the door in an hour. We enjoyed our dinner and drinks and were impressed with service.

1  Thank kayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

First, let me start by thanking you for taking the time to post this review. We rely on customer feedback to help better our business every day. Since our restaurant is located in the Theater District, we realize that many guests are coming in to dine before a show so we do our very best to ensure every customer ample time to have a nice meal without having to worry about missing the opening act.
Again, thank you for your comments and I'll be sure to share them with the rest of the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Fish and chips were great. Scotch and beer was plentiful. Staff was friendly. Lots of locals and regulars.

Thank FreqTraveler416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Your feedback is truly appreciated! Thanks for the review and we hope you will be stopping in for another "perfect pub" experience soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very accommodating to have drinks with family and to visit. Did not require the six of us to order any food since we had just eaten in Little Italy. That is not the case in a lot of places.

1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoline S, Manager at St. Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

I appreciate you writing a review for St. Andrews. It's good to hear you were able to enjoy a casual drink with your family while you were here visiting NY. Come see us next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Andrews also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing