We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unpleasent surprise”
Review of Becco

Becco
Reserve with OpenTable
Becco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #539 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street N/Q/W - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“unpleasent surprise”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have been a loyal follower Lidia Bastianich different ventures and have allways in the past been treated to wonderful meals.
Becco is an exception, as the meal we had was truly horrible. My wife ordered a simple pasta with tomato and garlic and arugula sauce. The pasta was totally over cooked, the sauce was so heavy with very large chunks of garlic and that it overpowerd any othe flavors. I had the Lassagna. In a simple term, any frozen lasagna off the shelf of a supermarket would be ten times better. We each must have taken a couple of bites from our plates and left the rest. When the waitress picked up the plates, she ignored the fact that the portions were almost intact and did not care to ask if something was wrong. Lidia needs to pay attention to this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank balz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,426
    1,050
    420
    213
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is warm and cozy. The service is excellent. The waiters are extremely helpful and knowledgable .. The fixed price menus is a great bargain unlimited Caesar Salad with unlimited pasta. You are given three kinds of pasta, all were delicious. A wonderful selection of all kinds of wine. There is a full menu with a great variety of choices This is great place to have lunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank northwoodsbill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, not great food.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had been told by a family friend who lived in NY that this was a great restaurant. We went before seeing a show and the atmosphere and service was great! Our food however, was not very good. I ordered antipasti and had no idea what was on the plate. My sister and I both had a three pasta taste plate which were all mediocre as was my moms veal piccata. Not recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenAnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitetop, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best by Broadway”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Becco is ALWAYS a great choice before a show. They are a long-standing dining experience and know how to get you in, feed you very well, and get you out to get to your show. They always have tons of specials from which to choose, but we love the "Symphony of Pasta." You get your choice of Cesar salad or anti-pasto and then servers come to your table and present three pastas with delicious sauces- from which you may choose any or all. Try them all and then pick one or more for limitless repeats. The portions are so generous that I usually can't eat more than the initial serving. The wine list is pleasing and plentiful. Desserts and aperitif are over the top (very good Grappa). Yes, the restaurant is always crowded (people know a good thing and go repeatedly). Reservations are strongly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VASusie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unbelievable delicious and so affordable”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

great location by theatres, great prices on food and wine, super special each evening was an unbelievable sumptious delicious deal. tight seating, waiter hard to understand but nice. fun italian classic! Owner is part of the Lydia series on PBS

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travels1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becco also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Becco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing