We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise”
Review of Ipanema Restaurant

Ipanema Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ipanema Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #199 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: In the heart of Little Brazil street is the famous Ipanema Restaurant, considered to be the best Brazilian restaurant in all of New York City. Ipanema offers a relaxed and contemporary atmosphere complemented by the authentic cuisine our chef has perfected over the past 30 years. While the name Ipanema refers to the famous beach in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil our menu is firmly rooted in the culinary crossover between both Brazil and Portugal. Ipanema's menu combines the timeless history of Portuguese recipes with the zest and vibrancy of Brazilian cuisine, resulting in a one-of-a-kind dining experience. At Ipanema you can immerse yourself in a true Brazilian-Portuguese experience with famous dishes including: Feijoada, Vatapá, Pão de Queijo, Bacalhau Assado, Bitoque Mariscada, and more.
California
Level Contributor
381 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Surprise”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Wile walking down W. 46th Street toward a Cuban restaurant, we came upon a most curious sight: tow unrelated Brazilian restaurants right next to one another. Ipanema had more patrons, so in we went. It's a lovely place with attentive wait persons.. The national dish of Brazil Feijoada caught my attention and it was excellent as was the steak that my wife ordered. A very satisfying meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    207
    49
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great service. I had the pork and clams dish which was interesting not great (few clams that were overcooked). K had the chicken topped with tropical fruits which was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank magmaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
609 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Excellent All Around”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

A party of four, our first-time visit was an early dinner around 4pm. Four different entrees were ordered and everyone was very satisfied with the quality and quantity of their choice. Prices ranged from $19 to $24 for the entree, a glass of red was $8 and beer was $7. We had no desserts as we were short of time, but the total bill (without tip) was $120.58 for the 4 of us, which is really good for NYC. The atmosphere was nice, relaxed, a little too dark at the table, not loud. The service was timely, not hovering around our table or absent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Small place, waiters are not the nicest in the world (to be expected in NYC), but when the food arrives, you will forget everything else, the picanha, the steaks, everything we ordered was absolutely perfect. And the touch of rice and beans makes it even better. Best cuts of beef I've had in NY.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgranados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and fulfilling”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The portions are huge and the food is delicious. I ordered the paella which was full of seafood and extremely good. We also ordered a shrimp dish which is served in a coconut, it has a hint of thai similarity in it but is so good. The steak was cooked so well. Some of the dishes, like the shrimp and paella, are enough for two people. The staff was so nice and inviting. The only thing I didn't like about this place was that they charged for soda refills.

Helpful?
Thank Shif473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ipanema Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ipanema Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing