We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not gluten-free” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nom Wah Tea Parlor

Nom Wah Tea Parlor
Ranked #14 of 579 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, but not gluten-free”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was really looking forward to this restaurant, with all of the gluten-free options available on the menu, and the online buzz. However, when I asked the waiter, I was told that since I had celiac, the only thing that was really gluten-free were the rice noodles (because the other "gluten-free" items were marinated in normal soy sauce), leaving almost nothing left to eat. I appreciate the concern for celiac, but feel that it's being decepetive for advertising something as gluten-free when it's really not. On the plus side, my wife enjoyed the dim sum, and the rice noodles were good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    191
    55
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“PRETENTIOUS MUCH?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

One would think that a tea parlor with a cultural reputation would be more ... welcoming? After all, it's a representative of the Chinese people (being the "oldest" Chinese tea parlor in NYC), whether it thinks of itself as such or not. But, not Nom Wah. The waiters were snooty and downright rude. When asked to cut up our red bean sesame balls in half for sharing, the waiter shook his head and snickered. "Is that too much to ask?" my fiance asked him. "Yes," he said, unapologetically.
I give this place an "N/A" rating, as in "NEVER AGAIN."

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average dim sum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Good nostalgic ambience. Service is prompt despite full house
Chicken bun and shrimp dumpling are very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eddiensw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We found this little restaurant quite by accident a few years ago. We later realized it was the same place my husband's grandfather used have lunch in between driving his cab fares, back in the late 1930's. Nearly every time we are in the city visiting our daughter, Nom Wah is the restaurant of choice. The food is consistently excellent and never disappoints. The meal is delivered soon after ordering with minimal wait time. The dishes are plentiful and the price is an amazing value for what you get. The shrimp shumai is a personal favorite. Don't miss an opportunity to enjoy some authentic dim sum and the experience that is Nom Wah!!! You'll want to visit again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JFG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Delicious food, served quickly and graciously. Dim Sum was super good, and plenty of it. Fresh Chinese greens in a yummy soy ginger sauce were the perfect accompaniment. Would definitely go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maineack55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nom Wah Tea Parlor also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nom Wah Tea Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing