We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thursdays” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onieal's Restaurant

Onieal's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Onieal's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,243 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: Centre Market
Transit: J, M, Z & 6 trains to Canal Street.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Thursdays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

On Thursdays, they play 90's music. The food is mediocre, but the drinks and the service are great. The place has a great atmosphere as well. Look up at the ceiling. It's beautiful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aashna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, good food, excellent drink menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stumbled across this bar during a trip to Little Italy area of NYC, and had an outstanding experience. The interior has impressive wood work and the overall atmosphere was casual and fun.

The good selection of draft craft beers and house specialty cocktails kept us entertained while it was snowing outside, and the quality of the pub style lunch foods was excellent. Finally, I have to note that the server was very attuned to our needs and very entertaining - he struck a nice balance of joking with our group and tending to our needs. A well paced and fun afternoon at Onieal's!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I actually live nearby but for some reason never made it in until now. The restaurant seems a little out of place within the context of its location. Still, when you walk in, it's dimly lit and the bar offers fantastic cocktails. I can't speak for the food menu, although we did have desserts at the bar and they were quite good. The drinks were even better. Must meet for drinks there more often.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dgfvsxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pretty good -- and then the tourists arrive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went there for brunch on a Sunday, cutting through from Chinatown to Soho. The interior's interesting, with an intricate wooden ceiling and comfortable, expansive tables and sofas than encourage you to curl up for a while.

The menu's fairly standard, nothing particularly original -- eggs benedict, burgers, fancy toast etc. Service was very friendly and cheerful albeit slooooow despite us being initially the only patrons other than the server's friends -- and the food took an absolute age (> 30 mins). That said, the food was very good, good enough that I would definitely visit again if I was in the vicinity, and the ambience was quiet, pleasant, and relaxed.

And then... 60 people arrived through the back door, vast numbers of pink Cosmos were poured, and every table, chair, stool, square of floor was taken up by people taking photos, fanning themselves to cool down, queueing for the restrooms, and so on. Turns out Onieal's was Aidan's bar in Sex and The City. I definitely didn't recognise it before (New York itself is pretty unrecognisable from 15 years ago), and to be honest I didn't really recognise it even when I knew where I was.

The tourists shouldn't put you off -- I presume they're only there a couple of times a day at most, and if you live in NYC you quickly get used to this sort of thing -- and its television history may even attract you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeepNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good service, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Went here based on the reweivs. The food wasnt great, the place was loud but excellent service. Wouldnt go here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ackaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onieal's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Onieal's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing