We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch”
Review of Cafe Gitane

Cafe Gitane
Ranked #1,244 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nolita
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
208 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stopped by for a quick lunch and we all enjoyed the many appetizers. The cheese plate was terrific and the bruschetta was very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WineSnob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    124
    26
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get local...!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wanna have breakfast or lunch among locals? Go to Cafe Gitane and have delicious sandwiches. Great neighbourhood, it makes you feel like a local for a few.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WendyFredzess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Get over yourselves”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

GITANE AT JANE HOTEL: I have stayed at The Jane Hotel many times and this incongruous tenant restaurant is its weak point. Staffed by European (I am European) staff that haven't grasped New York's effervescence and energy, their rather tiring attitude and lazy idea of service doesn't fit in. The menu doesn't work either. It's not French and it overcomplicates breakfast with lame attempts to be sophisticated. I struggle to pick anything at any time of day.
In the West Village, there are so many vastly better places for value, food, and service. The last thing I ever want in New York is self-satisfied surly unwelcoming service. Such a waste of time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deepoceansw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly quaint NoLita breakfast stop”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Its menu sprinkled with delights of typical French-Morrocan cuisine, this understated little café brings people of all types together in its small quarters. Owned by a Frenchman from Marrakesh, CG's waitstaff and line cooks sport military-inspired khaki ensembles, set to a backdrop of simple decor, a huge wall-hung map of Morocco, and prêt-à-manger fresh baguettes and croissants on the counter of the open-air kitchen. One of my secret cravings is for buttered toast topped with sliced avocado and a dash of salt and pepper.... and there it was, plain as day on the menu: “Avocado Toast”. Swoon. Service leaves a bit to be desired as staff were a bit cool in receiving and treating diners, but all is well when enjoying good cup of coffee (they have).


Take a look at other NYC restaurants I reviewed at http://www.deanes-list.com/6/post/2013/05/eat-downtown-nyc.html. Bon appetit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEANESLIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Always Go to Cafe Gitane”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

For several years I took my daughter to the U.S. Open on our birthday weekend and we day-tripped around the city. Each time we went, we both agreed that Cafe Gitane was one place we wanted to hit for breakfast on our walkabout.

In the four times we went, not once were we disappointed with the food, service, nor ambiance.

If you are staying in the area, or just walking about the city, Gitane is a funky French cafe that is worth making a side-trip to. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomGrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gitane also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Gitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing