We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ambience, food good but not great”
Review of Peasant

Peasant
Reserve with OpenTable
Peasant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,074 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Spring and Prince
Transit: 6 Train to Spring B,D,F,M to Broadway/LaFayette N,R to Prince
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic ambience, food good but not great”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant is so warm and has a modern rustic feel which is just so cozy. In the back of the restaurant is a wood burning oven and there was a pig roasting on a spit, almost felt medieval. This is a perfect fall/ winter restaurant choice. I started with the sardines which came in a teracotta dish, the sardines were good but just a little too much oil for my liking. I then had the suckling pig. Slightly strange way of serving it as it was in a smooth sauce, mixed in with fingerling potatoes. On the side was some suckling pig with the crackling on which was very tasty. The wine was really good. I would have liked it if the server had a bit more panache and had described the menu in a bit more detail . Tables can be close together and therefore noise level does get high but overall a really nice experience

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sregdab28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    101
    36
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Tip Experience”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Really enjoyed the food at Peasant. The restaurant is a little noisey and the tables are a little close together so if you're looking for any privacy whatsoever this may not be ideal. The waiter was not particularly good..a little arrogant and abrupt. I was interested to see a previous persons comment about a negative tipping experience. Our waiter asked very loudly if there was an issue with the service. He was unhappy with an 18% tip and raised his voice very loudly to say that in New York 20% is the minimum accepted and more should be given for good service. The sad part is that that food and overall experience was good but i would be slow to bring others back to this restaurant incase they were massively embarrassed by such a show-man waiter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sursf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great wood-fired grill and oven!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This restaurant located near Little Italy and West Broad serves great grilled meats over a spit and has a great grilled meats. Try the porchetta arrosto which I thought was very tasty. I split a spaghetti alle vongole which was surprisingly delightful. The chocolate budino was also quite good. A good value for the money as well. I thought the Vino Nobile was a good buy at $60.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wood Grilled Delights”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I can't say enough great things about this place. It was recommended to us by a chef and it didn't disappoint.

We had a wide assortment of grilled meats and fish, including octopus, tuna, sea bass, suckling pig and some absolutely awesome burrata. The wine list is fantastic and features Italian wines from every region.

The environment also makes the dinner. It's very rustic, with candles and large roaring fires in the kitchen.

In short, go here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MOIntTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of our Favorite NYC Restaurants”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I have been to Peasant's several time and have always been pleasantly surprised by how goodthe food is. We always order something different and it is always very good. Parking can be a little tough until you can park on the street after 6 PM for free, so don't get there too early.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badrock27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peasant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Peasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing