We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Quality and Cheap Vietnamese Cafe”
Review of thai son

thai son
Ranked #2,937 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
597 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Decent Quality and Cheap Vietnamese Cafe”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We ate here today for a late lunch and enjoyed the experience and food. Baxter St is full of Vietnamese restaurants and its probably worthwhile testing them all. Thai Son is our first experiment. A large menu of vietnamese dishes at good prices. The pho soups looked good but it was so hot we opted for a goi ga (Vietnamese chicken salad/coleslsaw style), a spicy squid dish and a dish of minced meat rolls on noodles. The goi ga and its sauce was acceptable. The minced meat rolls were very good and the squid was decent. This is a busy place with a high turnover, so I expect that even with a crowd the wait would not be too long. All around are street stalls selling (in early August) very cheap cherries, lychees and other fruits so if you want dessert - then skip the restaurants and just enjoy a pound of cherries or, even better, lychees which don't need washing as you browse around ChinaTown!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    13
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vietnamese food like no other in New York !!! Amazing Pho !!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A friend of mine recommended this place for lunch. It is in the heart of Chinatown, a few steps away from Mott Street. The place and the bathrooms are clean, the service was very fast. The prices are so low for a lot of food. I truly recomment the Pho Dac Biet (number 3 on the menu).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great menu, quick service”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Lots of options. Crowded but people are constantly on the move. Service was surprisingly quick. So many good choices we went back a second night. Very affordable for a NYC restaurant. A vietnamese friend said the food was just like her mother made !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank shoebits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have never eaten Vietnamese cuisine before so this was a first. The waiter suggested some dishes and off we went! Excellent tasty food and very reasonable for NYC. If we hadnt had a bottel of wine the bill would have been under 25$.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Vietnamese to avoid in NYC Chinatown”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My wife and were schpatzering (that's Yiddish for meandering or wandering) through Chinatown when we got a jonesing for some Vietnamese food. We were looking at window menu of Thai Son when a Vietnamese-American stopped us and told how great the pho is. In we went. My wife's shrimp pho tasted star anise flavored water. My traditional-style bahn mi sandwich tasted like a bad liver sandwich (to some that might redundant). But a bahn mi should be an experience of diverse flavors with balance -- the roast pork, the country pate, the Vietnamese pickles, the cilantro on a fresh, crusty French loaf. Decidedly not what we had at Thai Son. For first class Vietnamese food head over to Ca Bo at 17th and 9th.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wordwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed thai son also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to thai son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing