We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner friendly staff.....Quite loud!”
Review of Public

Public
Ranked #1,972 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Spring and Prince
Transit: 6,N & R train
New Rochelle, New York
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner friendly staff.....Quite loud!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our wait staff was friendly and not obtrusive. The look is industrial modern. Very cool!
When our dinner started at 6:30 the noise level was acceptable. When we left at 9:30 you could barely hear the person next to you.

The white semillon wine and sparkling water were fine. My first course was scallops with a sweet Thai chilly paste and greens. Three scallops perfectly cooked--a very good starter. My main dish was salmon. I asked for medium rare and it that is exactly how it arrived, topped with caviar and a fried plantain. This was really tasty; I have had so much over cooked salmon; this was perfect. I had the toffee pudding for dessert. It was good and not overly sweet. A decaf cappuccino was a very good ending.

If it were not for the noise level, I would have given the top rating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjm814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    141
    68
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“what a cool place...”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had a lovely meal in this totally cool restaurant. The waiter was attentive and friendly with a lovely smile. The venison was just amazing..
Worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad place overrated”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Public is a fairly overrated restaurant where service is bad. Thinking that being cool means being unfriendly is so old and provincial... Not recommended at all

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank matteomi973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Divine Gastronomic Intervention”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Feeling bitter? Perhaps a bit unfulfilled? Try running a marathon across 5 boroughs, or chugging a gallon of H2O in under 1 minute.... Or, you can just have brunch at Public. The atmosphere is modern, urban-industrial, the service is friendly, the fare is interesting, creative, unique, and the price is definitely right!

The food was a tad salty...but when was the last time you had grilled venison burger on a miso bun, an herby lentil salad with pomegranate molasses and avocado oil vinaigrette, or coconut pancakes with fresh ricotta mango salad and ginger syrup?

Ok, that's not exactly ONE of their dishes but you can order them all if you have the appetite; or you can bring along a friend. Afterall, food and drink edify the soul when done in the presence of good company. Yeah, the food was REALLY inspirational. Can't wait for a second go around.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubadivingcableguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The White Tiger”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Its as rare as seeing a white tiger- a hip restaurant where the staff is friendly, professional and warm and the food is central to the mission. My three visits to Public confirmed this is one of downtown's great dining experience. First Alsatian white and consummate people watching at the bar. What a mix of artists, writers, hipsters and the cultured class. Then off to our table for a brilliant meal. It doesn't matter what we ate.. It was just the kind of perfect new york evening where we never wanted to leave.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing