We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet”
Review of Public

Public
Ranked #1,965 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Spring and Prince
Transit: 6,N & R train
Birmingham, Mich
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Safe bet”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

You aren't going to regret going to this restaurant. The atmosphere is very cool -- an old warehouse. The food is good -- they try just a bit too hard to be edgy, but that's what a lot of cool restaurants do these days. The hostesses were a bit on chilly side, which was strange because we were among the very first guests of the evening, and we called ahead. Wait staff was excellent. Food was good enough. Best part was the interior -- totally worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ballerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    141
    67
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great ambience, food...jury is out”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It's NY and the group is torn between pizza and something different. In the end we opt for Public since you can't live on pizza alone (must be some new research I guess)

The first impression of Public is one of "Cool". There's a great atmosphere, soft lighting, brick walls, a good general vibe. You want to be seen here. You want to take a date to a place like this. Maybe some of the tables for 2 are too close alongside the brick wall in the main room, so you are not going to go into personal conversations here.

The menu is, well, interesting. Every dish is presented as a fusion of ingredients you would not normally associate together. Somehow miso ends up as an ingredient in three dishes. There's a wagyu beef tongue and you wonder how a wagyu tongue is different from that of a more common ruminant. There's Kangaroo on the starters as well, and we can't not order skippy. Apparently this is one of their signature award winning dishes.

As a side they have fried brussel sprout. Never seen it before, so that ones makes it to the table too.

The starters were well presented, some better than others. The beef tongue was a bit tough. I expected something softer and more moist, as I'm used to in Italian cooking. The person who ordered kangaroo also mentioned it was a bit tough. The mushroom ceviche was a winner.

The cod as a main was good, definitely enjoyed that. I will fault some of the dishes for being too rich in salt, but that's probably down to palate. Overall a good experience even though our party was divided down the middle on the food. On the ambience there was however consensus, the place is cool.

Excellent service, as usual in NYC I find. For non-Americans, that's down to the 20% tip you have to leave.

Last mention on the wine list, cheapest starts around the $50 mark, goes into the hundreds quickly for better selections.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geophilhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on my feet
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“the highs are high, the lows are almost as low”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

this review comes right down to the food, which was quite uneven during a recent visit. we decided to come for the sunday supper, an opportunity for the chef to show us what they could do with five courses. the breads were excellent, especially the fennel foccacia. the Soufflé was the strongest part of the menu, with the pork belly a solid second. my wife and daughter were a little put off by the sheer size of the pork belly portion, but i had no problem--perhaps pork belly might have been better served as the primary ingredient of an app. however, the tres leches cake as dessert was just off, and the ravioli was plain bad--undercooked, and the pasta was rolled way too thick.
the room itself was handsome, and the service team were slick, warm and attentive--they cannot be faulted.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank world_weary069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“How I Love Thee”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I love Aussie, and boy does it get even better when it is Aussie in NYC!!! This Aussie fusion restaurant is super, super cool and always filled with super chic clientele. Love the ambiance of the place...despite the Michelin rating sometimes the food can be less than dependable. But the atmosphere definitely makes up where the food sometimes isn't at its super-standard!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great American Food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a fun restaurant. Cool decor, great food, and good service. Check it out if you are in the mood for some great american style food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dman310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing