We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitchenette - CLOSED

Kitchenette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Between West Broadway & Greenwich Street
Transit: We are located at 156 Chambers Street. You can take the 1,2,3,A,C Train to the Chambers Street stop or the R or 6 Train to the City Hall stop, however, that station will leave you further away.
Description: Home style cooking at its best is our mantra. Our restaurant is located in the busy streets of Tribecca but one step inside instantly transports you to a quaint country diner in the heart of the New England country side. The pink polka dot wainscoting and tin ceilings along with our funky homemade tables made from salvaged doors adds to the cottage feel. You are met at the door with our abundantly filled pastry cases. The shelves are filled with our homemade layer cakes, flaky pies, iced cupcakes, fruit crisps, and so much more to tempt you on your way to a table. Kitchenette can satisfy all your cravings whether it be an oasis from the cold with our own hot chocolate topped with a homemade marshmallow, or a steamy bowl of chicken soup or a hearty meal of turkey meatloaf and mashed potatoes. We are a home away from home. Come visit us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch or an afternoon slice of cake and coffee. Hope to see you in our restaurant. Lisa and Ann
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stumbled on this place and had a good lunch, I had the MacnCheese BLT and it was very good.
They did offer 10% if we paid with cash

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NortheastPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    104
    28
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
242 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Little Gem in Tribeca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Vanilla Creme Brulee' French Toast. Need I say more to entice you to have breakfast at Kitchenette? Not convinced yet? How 'bout perfectly cooked eggs over easy with home made turkey sausages served with cherry pancakes? Add to this delicious meal a very attentive and friendly staff who keeps your coffee cup filled and your table clean.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best breakfast whilst in NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We came here for a first breakfast on our recent trip to NYC.

It was a short walk, a minute, from Chambers Street Station. We got seated straight away. The decor is best described as happy, really colourful.

To drink I had the strawberry lemonade, it was so refreshing. Really recommend having this to drink! My partner had the marshmallow hot chocolate which came with a massive marshmallow on the top, he also enjoyed this thoroughly.

I had the lumberjack breakfast with blueberry pancakes. The pancakes were the best pancakes I have had in my life. The scrambled egg was perfect and the bacon the perfect crispy.

I loved this breakfast, the flavours and textures were perfect.

My partner had the lumberjane which cinnamon french toast, and he enjoyed this also.

Really would recommend this place, I am gutted that I may never go here again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KirstyPalmer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome little breakfast joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Definitely call ahead or go on opentable and make a reservation. It was very crowded and we knew why after we tasted their food. It's a trendy little cafe, so a lot of the crowd was younger professionals. We went at Sunday brunch time and it was packed. Luckily we had made a reservation and were able to be seated within 10 mins of checking in with the host. Prices were a little high, but it's Manhattan and somewhat of a touristy area, so it was expected. We'd definitely go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mlewis311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well-prepared, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Visited for the second time in about a month - and once again the food was excellent. First time we had a little trouble finding the place (I think because of the road construction on Chambers St) - but the second time it was easy. Generous portions and really well cooked food - very flavorful and not typical "diner" type food. All of the servers appear to be young bohemian-type personalities, and ours were very friendly and attentive. I would recommend Kitchenette and I will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank myackanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchenette also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing