We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City

“A place to go multiple times”

Forlini's Restaurant
Ranked #357 of 15,426 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Between the food, staff, owner you will honestly leave feeling satisfied and full. The quality of the food is great and the stories from the owner makes you instantly feel comfortable. This isn't a restaurant it's a home and who doesnt love home cooked food

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank conorb413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 732 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2020

We had an amazing dinner here! Thank goodness we had a reservation. Our waiter was a real pro, and my dining partner was smart to put himself in the waiter's hands. He just gave some pointers about what he liked, and our waiter did the rest - very well! Everything we ate was flavorful and well-cooked, and very reasonably priced. I love how this place is off the main touristy drag of Little Italy, and it even still offers discounted parking next door! Talk about old school! There was a singer in the back room that those folks seemed to really enjoy, and several large parties in the front room with us. One was having a party/gift exchange and we were gifted their little Christmas tree. Everyone there was happy, enjoying their food, and having a great time, which made for a memorable evening. This restaurant has held a special place in my family's heart for several generations, and I'm sure Frank would be proud of how Forlini's is keeping its great reputation alive and well.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hilaryg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

The room was half full and server was described as "Brusk" by a dining companion. The bread was fantastic. We passed on appetizers and had entrees only. They offer free Limoncello after dining.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

A true Italian experience Once again the food was awesome the service great wine list reasonable and very good We had a beautiful salad and calamari as well as shrimp dishes and some pasta dishes everything was amazing

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paulforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

We went to Forlini's on a recommendation from a family member who knows NYC well. We were not disappointed. We were able to get seated without a reservation on the busiest weekend before Christmas. The variety of all the traditional Italian dishes was staggering. Though the plates were not the modern, overly garnished type, the food was awesome. Old world Italian that any Don would love.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Bterror11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forlini's Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Forlini's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing