We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty meal; excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scalini Fedeli

Scalini Fedeli
Reserve with OpenTable
Scalini Fedeli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #847 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Hudson
Transit: Chambers St
Description: Scalini Fedeli ranked among New York's finest restaurants since its opening in early 2004, taking Italian cuisine to new heights. Rewarded with the highest overall ratings in the Zagat Survey, Scalini Fedeli has been granted one star by the Michelin guide in it's inaugural 2006 issue. The inviting decor features vaulted ceilings and European antiques and provides the perfect setting for chef Michael Cetrulo's delightful cuisine which offers the finest ingredients coupled with a confidence and grace that ensures your meal will be a memorable one. Menu highlights include soft egg yolk raviolo with ricotta and truffle butter and New York's finest venison chop in a port wine and balsamic vinegar sauce with toasted hazelnuts, sauteed spinach and roasted Mission figs. The 350-bottle wine list encompasses all regions of Italy but also does justice to the best American wineries.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty meal; excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Dinner here was very good and the service excellent. I am, however confused by the over the top superlatives from other reviewers. It just didn't stand out in that way for me or my group of friends. We are foodies and had long wanted to try Scalini Fedeli, which is in the neighborhood. Nothing was mediocre except perhaps my dessert (2 hazelnut wafers with gelato in between). But, I was not bowled over by anything compared to other places both in and outside Tribeca.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JADSNYC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    58
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above and beyond ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Fine dining Italian in NYC is one of our great passions. We have visited many Italian restaurants and this one was definitely my favorite. For being a prefixed menu they offered a large array of options and each course was better than the last. Truly the highlight of the candlelight intimate dinner with freshly cut red roses decorating each table was the service. From the moment you walked in they were attentive and charming. This is the real deciding factor for fine nyc dining... Its easy to impress with homemade gourmet dishes with fresh ingredients, but the service was quite impressive!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mobyrd20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service, nice decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Although the dishes are traditional, execution is flawless and the wine that was proposed to accompany our meal couldn't have been a better choice for us. A memorable evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat in NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I rarely will rate a restaurant so high, but this place has earned after every visit. The large ravioli appetizer is a must! The food, atmosphere and service are top notch. It is expensive but worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bimmerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“45th Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Gracious, old Italian service with incredibly wonderful food. We did not feel rushed even though they served several house intermezzos w/o charge. The pasta is delicate, flavorful, and light. I'm glad we celebrated at Scalini and will certainly dine there again when in NY!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalini Fedeli also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Scalini Fedeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing