We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent authentic Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hop Kee Restaurant

Hop Kee Restaurant
Ranked #1,135 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My father has been dining at Hop Kee for many years and we recently celebrated his birthday there with family and friends. We enjoyed pork spare ribs, beef chow fun, crispy pork chops, peppers with shrimp paste, shrimp with walnuts and broccolli, wor shui kau soup, vegetable lo mein, flounder kow and steak with bok choy. All of the food was delicious and they will season it per your request. Alcohol is available as well.

This restaurant is located downstairs and has been there for about 40 years and it is not pretentious in any way. Many of the customers appear to be locals from the Chinatown neighborhood. Also, they only accept cash. Don't go there for the bar scene, or the ambiance or for egg rolls. Go there for tasty, authentic Chinese food at a good price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suicune723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    91
    24
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
303 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hot tea and good food on a cold winter night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Crabs are in season so we came here for the "Crabs Cantonese Style" $16.75 on the menu along with Porkchop Peking Style $14.25 and Boiled Chinese Vegetable (Bok Choy) $8.50. It was a freezing cold and windy night. We were so happy to warm up at the restaurant and enjoy a great dinner and hot tea. I'm not a big pork eater but I absolutely had to at least try the pork chops in front of me. Delicious. My friend speaks Mandarin and knows most of the waiters so he chatted with them when they weren't busy with customers. The food is good and service is decent, I would eat here again. Not much atmosphere since it's in the basement.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenoftheHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Hop Kee is a New York tradition or should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

10 of us dropped into the Hop Kee one night midweek. We ordered spicy squid, deep fried chicken wonton, flounder, garlic bok choy, and cashew chicken as well as hot and sour soup. Everything tasted great especially the flounder. The service was great and if you ask they will modify your choice. Example we had more garlic added to the bok choy . The menu is extensive so go with a hungry gang and try eveything but remember cash only and there's no alcohol but you can bring wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Plenty of choices and good food in a plain setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hop Kee is like many restaurants in New York's Chinatown: a long menu with many options in the soups and entrees categories, covering meats and fish and chicken. This one is slightly more Americanized than many and its prices are more in the "moderate" than in the "cheap" category. But the food is of good quality and plentiful and flavorful. The decor will not win any prizes but the place is clean. Service is fine.
global New York City

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globalNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“American Style Chinese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We only come here whenever we crave American style Chinese food. The food is decent but the price is bit high (IMO). Definitely come here if you are in the mood for this type of food.

Helpful?
Thank AKrulzNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hop Kee Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hop Kee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing