We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY good for salads, a little less for other dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Benvenuto Cafe - CLOSED

Benvenuto Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,901 reviews
1,916 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 933 helpful votes
“VERY good for salads, a little less for other dishes”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had lunch at this NY City café today, and for the most part we enjoyed the meal. The main counter of this place is basically an extended salad bar, but with the concept that the person behind the counter makes a salad for you from the menu, or you name your own ingredients. Everyone except my younger daughter went with the "name your own ingredients" concept. She went with the ravioli pasta.

The salads were all very nice, and the greens and other ingredients tasted very fresh. The ravioli, however, took an extra 15 minutes to come out, but still tasted like it came from a can. (Then again, when was the last time you saw an 11 year-old order a salad?)

The meals were well-priced, and they were very filling and tasty for what we'd expected. I would visit this place again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good food in the Flatiron district. Had the eggs benedict, good service, very friendly. great location, and with outdoor seating. inside also very pretty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mystyqe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“neighborhood deli +”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

the perfect place for a quick meal. i go there regularly because i go to school across the street...sometimes i spend hours there studying...the food is affordable and consistently good...a kind of high end deli/cafe. i love their pizzas and salads and they have great fresh juices...a little pricey but good

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good menu and good coffee ! ”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Went in for a coffee. Good choice on the menu. Very popular at lunchtime and if you can get a seat, great view of Madison Park and the Empire State. Prices okay so no complaints

Helpful?
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No problems here for me”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

i stumbled onto this place and decided to eat lunch here. i had soup, which they offered me a sample of before purchasing. The soup came with bread and a peice of fruit which they let you choose from a big fruit basket. i think i paid about 7+ for everything.

they are located on 950 broadway (212 614 7224) and 369 greenwhich streer too (unless i'm just reviewing the wrong rest. ?)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benvenuto Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing