We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but over rated”
Review of ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
ABC Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 13,690 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Broadway & Park Avenue South
Transit: L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square
Description: ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible. ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.
rhode island
Level Contributor
143 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food but over rated”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We ate here at a crowded lunch time. Wait staff was very attentive. Gazpacho & beets were perfect. Do not waste your time with the pizza - not very good. I enjoyed it - but not as great as the hype

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    416
    129
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington IL
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hard to Find but Well Worth It”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I almost walked past the ABC Kitchen despite having the address in my hand because it is so subtle from the outside. But once you get in the door you realize this place is special. From the friendly people at the front to the people at your table you are treated as a welcome guest no matter the nature of your dress. The clientele is fairly trendy, and the food is universally excellent. Maybe the biggest surprise was the modesty of the menu prices given the location and the creativity and quality of the offerings. This is the type of place where I could return again and again when in NYC.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nrstycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We came here for a meal on our honeymoon and did not leave disappointed. We didn't have starters but based on seeing others, they looked great.

My wife had lobster and I had the biggest chicken known to man on a bed of spinach. Topped off with house fries. We finished with ice creams and sorbets and a little cupcake with a candle each for a congratulations.

Nice ambience in the place with attentive wait staff, highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST MEAL”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I am so happy we choose to eat here. We had a reservation somewhere else and made a last minute decision to dine here. The food was excellent. Every dish was better than the next. Only problem was we ordered too much and couldn't finish everything. No room for the desserts which are supposed to be excellent. Loved that they had Sancerre by the glass. Will definitely eat here again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sydneysammy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spice it up a little”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is terrific, an energy and excitement worth taking in. The service was outstanding the staff seem to enjoy working there and like the food and can help recommend. most dishes have a spice but not overbearing. Lots to take in so plan for a visit to the shops as well. Thumbs up on this spot.
Enjoy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABC Kitchen also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to ABC Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing