We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snowy Night- Walk in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
ABC Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Broadway & Park Avenue South
Transit: L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square
Description: ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible. ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.
silicon valley,Ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Snowy Night- Walk in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were a walk in, as we couldn't secure reservations before we came to town. I think the snow helped us get a table :~). Friends had recommended it to us…we were not disappointed.

We were seated at a unique funky table with comfy high back chairs in the cafe area. Ambiance was nice.

Food was excellent! Service was excellent as well. We shared the meat and cheese starter, and pear salad. Both were fresh and had just the right amount of food. One of us had the salmon entree and the other had the pork suckling dish. Fantastic combination of foods on one plate! Nice pinot from Willamette Valley to accompany the meal.

Shared a port and sea salt caramel ice cream to close the meal which was the perfect amount of food and drink.

Was a memorable meal….

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brunello_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    885
    408
    123
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
280 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fun Sunday brunch at ABC Kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were unable to make a reservation here during the weekend of our visit to NYC so we decided to show up at ABC Kitchen around 11am on a Sunday morning. We were seated right away at a community table which was fine. The service was great and the food was delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TLWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited today having seen a review in the UK press. Very impressed with the overall ambience and the quality of the food. The restaurant was busy but buzzing. The service was excellent but more importantly relaxed and friendly . The price was reasonable for this high standard. Will certainly visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is the star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stopped for lunch right after Thanksgiving and we were very positively surprised. The food is excellent, it's nice to find a restaurant that makes simple food and does it with excellence. Desserts as well were very good.

The place is set up as a minimalist canteen, a lot of white with wooden beams, white simple chairs and tables. Because of the low ceiling the restaurant tends to get quite loud when it reaches capacity, I found this to be the only defect for the place, but only matters if you were planning on a date.

Staff is very nice but sometimes it tends to over service to the point that they tried to remove our plates while we were still eating, but I truly think that it was due to the fact that they are trying very hard.

Overall I would go back every time I am in New York to try all the rest of the menu, every single dish we had was perfect in terms of Flavors, quantities and the organic aspect is definitely the big cherry on top.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, gorgeous setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch on black Friday and were extremely pleased with our choice. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and the food was delicious. The setting is also great, with small details that make it interesting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillyConQueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABC Kitchen also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to ABC Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing