We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot place, meal & staff”
Review of ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
ABC Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #113 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Broadway & Park Avenue South
Transit: L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square
Description: ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible. ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hot place, meal & staff”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked our lunch one month in advance just to make sure, and it was packed so glad we did. Great buzz, people watching, food was amazing - VERY spicy - almost too spicy, but utterly delicious, the dessert with homemade caramel ice cream and salted popcorn is a must - yummy!!! Our waiter was not the friendliest man we met in NYC – the closest we got to a smile was a little smirk…, but he was really attractive and did his job, so we did not mind. I absolutely loved this place and it will definitely be put on my MUST DO-list for NYC. Amazing for a bubble lunch with the girls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lenkre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    431
    131
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Couldn't praise it higher”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A lovely boozy ladies' lunch! This place looks a little unpromising and very incognito from the outside but trust the directions. Inside was a beautifully distressed organic looking dining room with an open and airy feel. If I were to quibble, I might suggest the tables be better spaced as one of the waitresses managed to knock my water glass over with her derrière, as she bent over the table next door to serve them. But as I managed to save my glass of red wine, disaster and a major wardrobe incident was averted and the rest of the staff was quick to furnish towels to help me dry my clothes and handbag.

The food however and the service apart from this blip, were excellent. We had struggled to find vegetables in most restaurants we had visited, so we were keen to have the heirloom tomato toast, which was as it should be, with a hint of cheese. The kale salad was nicely dressed though the Serrano chillies might have been more finely sliced, as they were eye-wateringly spicy. But the shaved fluke and the crab toasts were divine and I will be trying to replicate these at home. Our main, which we shared, was the hake. A great recommendation from our waiter. It was perfectly cooked, melting and flakey, with a nicely balanced tomato sauce. We had a side order too of the corn, which proved a dish too far after a hearty breakfast earlier - but was still good.

Our waiter was outstanding, very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and wine.

Would cheerfully return for dinner next time I am in New York.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissT_HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“ABC Delicious!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a fantastic restaurant! We had reservations for brunch (at 2:30 p.m. - it's super popular), and the place was hopping. It's very clean, open, white. Fresh, fresh, organic food. There were too many choices. Hubby had the french toast with honey glazed peaches and I had a ricotta omelet. Both super-scrumptious. Service was good, not amazing. A bit pricey, but a treat worth splurging on. With dessert and coffee, brunch came to $80.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amazing food, cocktails, great environment
would definitely return here. Highly recommend. The service was top.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Food was good but service was slow”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went on a weekday but the restaurant was buzzing. Prior reservations are highly recommended. Be ready to wait for your table if you are in the second seating. Known for its organic food it has a good menu with delicious food. The place gets a bit noisy. We ordered , Roast carrot and avocado salad , riccota ravioli and spinach goat cheese pizza. It has a decent selection for the vegetarians. Desserts were good as well. Ambience is good but service could have been a better. Will definitely go again on my next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsimDalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABC Kitchen also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to ABC Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing