We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A neighbourhood gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Novita

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Novita
Reserve with OpenTable
Novita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,085 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gramercy Park
Cross street: Park Avenue South
Transit: 6, R & W trains to 23rd Street.
Description: Novita is a vibrant 60-seat trattoria serving a seasonally inspired, modern Italian menu. Chef owner Marco Fregonese’s innovative take on classical, regional cooking begins with the finest, artisan ingredients and freshest, seasonal products. His distinctive light and flavorful dishes are pure and satisfying and perfectly complemented by a select list of wines from superb Italian specialty and boutique growers. Novita is located a few steps down from a quiet tree lined street in the Gramercy Park neighborhood. The setting is warm and elegant and the mood quintessentially Italian. In pleasant weather, sidewalk, alfresco dining is offered further adding to Novita’s year round appeal.
American in Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A neighbourhood gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Wow, this is a brilliant neighborhood Italian, with great service an fabulous food. If only it was my neighborhood!! We'll worth a visit for classical Italian dishes beautifully prepared and served.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaTxEi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    43
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had to sit outside as everything inside was fully booked for dinner. Good service, nice wine selection on both bottles and open wines plus freshly made pasta. I choose the option with black truffle and it was delicious. My colleague had lamb chops and said he had never had any better. I recommend to reserve.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterFFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent NYC outdoor cafe'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great food, great service. Extremely nice outdoor seating for NYC which is hard to find for lunch! The staff was very friendly. Light menu items and great salads!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TShed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overall average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

By New York standards, I would rate this as an average restaurant. We had been to Novita quite a few years ago with another couple, and absolutely loved it. However, on this visit, we were a bit disappointed. The good parts. We called on a whim during our visit in New York on a Sunday, and were happy to land 6:30 dinner reservations for four, two couples. Upon entering we were promptly greeted, and offered a perfect table. The atmosphere is cozy, the service efficient but not overly friendly. The pasta dishes are homemade and very good, but not a "I absolutely must return" good. My husband had the veal parm, which was a pounded veal chop and said it was very good. Here are the two caveats to the otherwise nice dining experience, which would have bumped Novita above 'just average.' Firstly, and most importantly, we felt taken advantage of upon further investigating the bottle of wine we had for dinner. It was one of their least expensive bottles and it was priced at $68. Imagine our shock upon researching the wine later to find it sells for anywhere between $9 and $12 a bottle. Secondly, my husband asked for just a small portion of pasta instead of the veggies that were offered with the veal parm (who has veggies with veal parm and not pasta?), and the waiter said he would have to upcharge to do that. Not very accommodating. But, again, the price of the wine made us feel we were totally taken advantage of, and that's a feeling no one wants to take away from a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great food, awesome wine selection. Very hospitable staff. Meal was delicious. Very enjoyable indeed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desertchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novita also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Novita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing