We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Novita

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Novita
Reserve with OpenTable
Novita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,085 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gramercy Park
Cross street: Park Avenue South
Transit: 6, R & W trains to 23rd Street.
Description: Novita is a vibrant 60-seat trattoria serving a seasonally inspired, modern Italian menu. Chef owner Marco Fregonese’s innovative take on classical, regional cooking begins with the finest, artisan ingredients and freshest, seasonal products. His distinctive light and flavorful dishes are pure and satisfying and perfectly complemented by a select list of wines from superb Italian specialty and boutique growers. Novita is located a few steps down from a quiet tree lined street in the Gramercy Park neighborhood. The setting is warm and elegant and the mood quintessentially Italian. In pleasant weather, sidewalk, alfresco dining is offered further adding to Novita’s year round appeal.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Really nice, good quality food, super service !
I love this place and mr. Giuseppe the owner
Great place great people, great cuisine

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleGhedini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    43
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Satisfactory, but ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had walked by for years, and always wanted to have a special dinner there. The food was fine, the service fine, the atmosphere and decor fine; but sadly nothing to write home about. And it is fairly expensive, so for a certain and sure thing, I would recommend dinner with Aunt Sally, but for a wow, something twinkling and special, there is better to be had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 28thst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Delicious pasta, great friendly service, always accommodating. Very cozy atmosphere.
We love to come here on late Saturday nights after a comedy show at the Stand, sometimes just for antipasti and wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christiane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very satisfactory meals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've been to lunch three times at Novita and found good food and cocktails each time. My friend and I usually share a salad, entree, and dessert, but our own drinks. All of the food has been fine. The restaurant is fairly small, NOT NOISY, and the service is attentive and polite. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asbury park, new jersey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Every time I've been to Novita, the food has been delicious and the service has been wonderful. The restaurant is cozy and welcoming. It is located on 22nd Street just off Park Avenue South. The space is small but feels special. Every dish I've had has been remarkably fresh and tastes like you're Italian grandmother went and had a fine dining cooking class. I recently met a friend for lunch and we shared the WARM goat cheese salad with rucola and walnut vinaigrette. It wasn't just really good. It was sublime and presently so differently than anywhere else I've had that type of salad. For my entree, I had the pesto with homemade pasta. It was so fresh and delicious! I didn't have dessert this trip, but I have in the past and they are fantastic. The service, as always, was attentive, informative and caring. I highly recommend Novita for lunch or dinner. You'll love it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilacgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novita also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Novita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing