We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in all ways”
Review of Gramercy Tavern

Gramercy Tavern
Ranked #137 of 14,822 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Park Avenue & Broadway
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R or L to 14th Street Union Square or 6 to 23rd Street at Park Avenue
Description: One of America’s most beloved restaurants, Gramercy Tavern has welcomed guests for close to three decades to enjoy seasonal American cuisine, warm hospitality and unparalleled service. The restaurant is perennially ranked at the top of Zagat Survey’s ‘Most Popular’ list, and has garnered eight James Beard Awards including ‘Outstanding Restaurant’ and ‘Best Chef: NYC’. Chef Michael Anthony’s highly seasonal menu consists of elegant dishes with a rustic influence that showcase the restaurant’s relationships with local farms and purveyors. The Main Dining Room serves seasonal menus starting at $165 for dinner and a $72, three-course lunch prix fixe menu. Reservations are accepted 28 days in advance. The more casual Tavern serves an a la carte menu centered around the wood burning grill, available for reservations, though walk-ins are accepted. The restaurant also features an acclaimed wine list, and thoughtfully selected beer and cocktail offerings.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

I treated my sister and two young friends to lunch. The service and food were just perfect in a very pretty dining room. The food is very inventive - I had duck and a beet salad. Portions might be a little small for some. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. I will be back.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelingdogDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,128 of 3,807 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Incredible service by Brooks at the bar. Burger, vegetable plate and complimentary coconut cake to celebrate were divine! Don't miss this iconic gem! We loved celebrating our special occasions here! Cocktail and wine list were well done. Service and food is approachable, comfortable instead of stuffy. Ambience left us both in a relaxed, cheerful mood to continue our NYC adventure!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Charb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

A policy of no-booking in the Tavern indicates the demand for dining slots - so be prepared to queue up...Having said that, you can wait at the bar (though that is likely to very crowded as well - good luck with finding a bar stool) or, probably better, find a good local bar. The front-of-house will text/call you when your dining slot comes up.
When you finally get your table, I think you'll find the effort and wait has been worthwhile. The menu is inventive and intriguing, but not too way out. The wine was gorgeous (we chose the cheapest white btw) the service impeccable and the decor beautiful enhanced with masses of statement flowers.
Like all popular places, try to go when their is least demand - an early dinner, for example. You may still wait for an hour and half for a table, but by 7.30pm there is likely to be a 3 hour wait.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nixster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

My partner and I had dinner at GT. I had been in their outer bar area several times, where they serve great cocktails and an interesting menu, but the more formal dining room has a more extensive menu.

We were seated in a wonderful table in the corner of the room looking out over the dining room and had a young server who was an absolute expert on everything we asked her. In addition to making helpful recommendations on drinks and dinner, she was delightful and engaged in conversation with us about the experience at serving in such a high end icon type restaurant as GT. The food was amazing, as expected. But the service she provided is what we both remember after the fact. For a romantic environment, lovely food, and caring service, Gramercy Tavern is undoubtedly a place we'll return over and over.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank namchebaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Gramercy Tavern provides a fantastic meal with unpretentious service and a warm, relatively casual ambience. Food and wine pairings were both excellent.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ph7719
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Gramercy Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gramercy Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.