We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramercy Tavern

Gramercy Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Gramercy Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Park Avenue & Broadway
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R or L to 14th Street Union Square or 6 to 23rd Street at Park Avenue
Description: One of America’s most beloved restaurants, Gramercy Tavern has welcomed guests for close to two decades to enjoy seasonal American cuisine, warm hospitality and unparalleled service. The restaurant is perennially ranked at the top of Zagat Survey’s ‘Most Popular’ list, and has garnered eight James Beard Awards including ‘Outstanding Restaurant’ and ‘Best Chef: NYC’. Chef Michael Anthony’s highly seasonal menu consists of elegant dishes with a rustic influence that showcase the restaurant’s relationships with local farms and purveyors. The Main Dining Room serves prix-fixe menus starting at $92 for dinner and an a la carte menu for lunch, and accepts reservations 28 days in advance. The more casual Tavern serves an a la carte menu centered around the wood burning grill, and welcomes guests on a walk-in basis. The restaurant also features an acclaimed wine list, and thoughtfully selected beer and cocktail offerings.
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
296 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Elegant lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

"Elegant" and "lunch" may not go together but this was both. We had been waylaid by the snow storm in the South and had to give up a dinner reservation at Gramercy Tavern the night before. Luckily we found our way to the Gramercy back dining room the following day for lunch. The service was superb with the pacing of the meal just perfect. The taste of everything, from soup of the day to the entrees to dessert, was fabulous. My duck dish could not have been better. Wines were great. The total experience was everything we had hoped for and more. It will be hard not to stop here on every trip to the Big Apple, even with all the great dining to be sampled in the city.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,061
    561
    198
    52
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“As Usual tip top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went back here after a good few years on the trip to NYC - As usual the food and service were excellent - The Cheese plate was exceptional and I asked the waitress to pick me a selection and she came up trumps - go it a great restaurant and never fails to deliver

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank thefirmDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
366 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

As soon as you enter, you know it will be a dining treat. There's a lively, crowded bar and you quickly notice the warm unobtrusive décor. We sat in the back where it was quieter. When making reservations, ask for a corner table with the banquettes. The wait staff is attentive to everything you need and ask for. The menu for the dining room is prix fixed. No matter what you order you'll not be disappointed. I recommend the lobster pappardelle appetizer to begin what will be a memorable dining experience. The desserts were excellent and the waitress Angela treated us to a piece of heavenly chocolate cake for the birthday girl. When you've finished, you'll realize why the Gramercy is a Zagat rated top restaurant every year. Remember to make reservations.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, occasionally great, but worth it?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Listen. No one is going to go to Gramercy Tavern and have a bad meal. But a truly great meal, worth all that hype, and worth the price? I am not so sure about that. I did have an exquisite cocktail involving Jalisco pear, and our waiter was impeccable. But the food? It was good, with dish intensely fresh and flavorful, and lovely presentation, but it just wasn't exceptional. Given the reputation of the place, I wanted to be really swept off my feet, but it was just another good (if very expensive) dinner in NYC.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank supergirl_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Intentionally reserved a late 2:00 lunch before an evening of theater but got stuck in traffic so we were late; staff could not have been more gracious! But we were good patrons and called as soon as we were sure we'd be late. One diner had the delicious and visually gorgeous tasting menu while the other three ordered à la carte. All reports and tastes were wonderful; our wait person was charming and she did a perfect job guiding our wine by the glass pairings. My lamb ordered medium, because I am an odd ball and do not enjoy it rare, arrived medium rare at best, but I don't send things back as a rule and the end pieces were enough to eat. I'm sure had I chosen to get a bit more flame it would have been graciously handled. A beautiful room and scrumptious desserts were the cap on our experience.

Helpful?
Thank tahoekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramercy Tavern also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gramercy Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing