We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really? A St. Louisan makes it in NYC? "That's a winner."”
Review of Gramercy Tavern

Gramercy Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Gramercy Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Park Avenue & Broadway
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R or L to 14th Street Union Square or 6 to 23rd Street at Park Avenue
Description: One of America’s most beloved restaurants, Gramercy Tavern has welcomed guests for close to two decades to enjoy seasonal American cuisine, warm hospitality and unparalleled service. The restaurant is perennially ranked at the top of Zagat Survey’s ‘Most Popular’ list, and has garnered eight James Beard Awards including ‘Outstanding Restaurant’ and ‘Best Chef: NYC’. Chef Michael Anthony’s highly seasonal menu consists of elegant dishes with a rustic influence that showcase the restaurant’s relationships with local farms and purveyors. The Main Dining Room serves prix-fixe menus starting at $92 for dinner and an a la carte menu for lunch, and accepts reservations 28 days in advance. The more casual Tavern serves an a la carte menu centered around the wood burning grill, and welcomes guests on a walk-in basis. The restaurant also features an acclaimed wine list, and thoughtfully selected beer and cocktail offerings.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
175 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Really? A St. Louisan makes it in NYC? "That's a winner."”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

So, St. Louis is all about "where did you go to high school." NYC is "if you can make it here..." Danny Meyer has conquered both. Just an incredible 2.5-3 hour pleasure ride dinner. No one makes you feel like you have to leave and the comfortable setting makes you want to stay all night. And I think they would even let you if you asked. The staff is VERY accommodating and service was phenomenal.
Lamb is a signature and you know why after one bite. Get it medium rare and you will never look back. Sea bass to REAL steak tartare was just a pleasurable experience. Perfectly prepared. Perfectly printed.
Wine selections are perhaps the highlight with a well rounded list from very affordable to the $1,100 Bryant (not sure even this St. Louisan has many of those in inventory) and the real pleasure is you are NOT up-sold like many NYC locations I have frequented.
Getting a table is SO SO hard but keep trying. Going to the intersection of NYC and St. Louis is a great ride. Get on board at Gramercy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,148
    583
    201
    54
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Danny Meyer + USHG never disappoints!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My partner and I took his mother to NYC for her 50th birthday and secured a reservation at this popular yet non-pretentious iconic restaurant. Their booking policy is 28 days in advance with reservation lines opening at 10AM.

We all ordered the tasting menu and were very happy with our meal - especially the nonstop dessert tastings! The staff is very welcoming and warm, they knew when to be attentive and when to let us enjoy our time/meal. The restaurant is a bit smaller than expected but we didn't crammed. We were seated in the star room in the corner and because of this it created a very intimate feel for us which we loved.

The restaurant offers a nice surprise for diners at the end of the meal for a snack the morning with a muffin or whatever their pastry chef makes on a daily basis.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoQwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Somewhere for a treat!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great atmosphere, food was lovely. We were seated in the main dining room, with a set menu of $88 each. It's more of a fine dining experience, and very pricey but we enjoyed everything about it. The wine list is overly extensive, we found it hard to make a choice! The staff were more than helpful, explaining various items on the menu, and extremely attentive. We had booked about a week in advance, but book earlier if you don't like eating late (9.30 was the earliest booking I could get).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Over rated, plain, uninspiring”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We dined following the recommendation and booking by hotel concierge of The Ritz Carlton CP, during a pre cruise break in NYC. I was entirely happy to accept the recommendation, based upon the ratings and reviews of the restaurant read prior to our trip. The moral of the tale being that ratings DO frequently distort. Why? Well I guess it's mainly the human nature aspect which dictates that we display and share happy better and more willingly than we display unhappy. Not always so...... This restaurant is a cramped, badly laid-out and poorly manned uninspiring affair. I have eaten better food at run of the mill restaurants in London, and frankly the mock tavern design of the place is unconvincing and drab. From the lack lustre greeting on arrival, to the impersonal table service, the staff attitude is arrogant and vanilla, no effort to engage and make their guests feel like guests. The food is overall fair, albeit trying far far too hard to appear funky and clever, left us feeling that the production line approach of the chef and kitchen was something that we won't be telling friends to try any time soon. Truly overrated, give this supposed 'must' a miss. Next trip the NYC already planned, great city that we enjoy, sadly this is a poor example of an experience in the city that we didn't.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you want to spoil yourself and somebody you like very much....”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spend a dinner at Gramercy Tavern to enjoy a special night in New York. We booked the dinner well in advance, prior to our NY trip since this is a popular spot for the weekend.

The restaurant has a more basic section with a more casual bar menu and the upscale restaurant. We chose the restaurant and I have to say we had a fantastic night. The 4 course dinner was amazing and good value for money, the service explendid and of course the wines and drinkes, too!

I can highly recommand this place!

Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramercy Tavern also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gramercy Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing