We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is old school brilliance”

Veniero's Pasticceria & Caffe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Diner, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: East Village
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“This is old school brilliance”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

An century-plus old Italian cafe in the East village. It oozes charm. The espresso is oh so good. The pastries look like they are mass produced but they are brilliant. The turnover is so high that they are always fresh. But the highlight is the almond torte, which is the best cake in history. Like the review below, this is another Canadian that raids Veniero's every time I visit NYC to bring gifts back. A must-visit place for me every time I go to NYC.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    126
    27
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“6 Stars & 110% THE best!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Driving by and walking in is a treat to the senses- reminds you of old world charm. The abundance of fresh smells and pastries is pleasing to the senses, and sooo easy to take for granted. Until you taste them, decadent, splendid, and truly a experience unlike any other. The cannoli's oh my..... And the cheesecake, I don't- er, I mean didn't like cheesecake until I got very personal with Veniero's.... Can I take the lords name in good vain??? Have mercy...
Note to self: Always take lot's to go. We got plenty to bring back to Canada. It didn't make it. (Shhh!) :)
I make no apologies and i'd do it again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia_S1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious...”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can say that I have never eaten a delicious omelet and pancakes, the good reviews here, but I can only confirm fully. Try the juices and the Cafe I highly recommend. The restaurant is small and far from spacious, but also what gives it its charm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Loius W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historical bakery”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We wanted an authentic NY bakery product and this place was recommended. We had some sweets in the cafe and took some back to the hotel too. Awesome desserts. The owner came in while we were there. He was very nice and even recommended an awesome authentic pizza place close by.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhikers0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I could die happy just eating their cannolis.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you are in the mood for Italian dessert of any kind go here. The desserts are amazing and really give you an authentic taste of both New York and Italy. Over 100 years of experience leads to perfection, and for $13.50 per pound on mini pastries I can afford to indulge when my waistline doesn't argue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viyamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veniero's Pasticceria & Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Veniero's Pasticceria & Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing