We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambulance, great service, average food”
Review of Lure Fishbar

Lure Fishbar
Reserve with OpenTable
Lure Fishbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #600 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: Prince & Mercer Streets
Transit: N,R,F,V,B
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice ambulance, great service, average food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We've been here a handful of times over the years and for the most part have a good experience. The service is attentive and friendly. The ambiance is cool, as if your having dinner in a giant yacht. The food has been consistently average.

We've had fish entrees and sushi numerous times. Both decent, definitely not bad, but nothing memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    185
    59
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not what I expected...”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lure is right around the corner of my office and we went to have dinner with a few of our out-of-town coworkers. I was really expecting some delicious seafood and was getting ready to feast since I wasn't paying.

I ordered the Lobster Ravioli and boy was that a disappointment. I'm not sure where the lobster in the Lobster Ravioli was and we only got about three raviolis. I'm not sure where that constitutes a meal, much less for the price on the menu.

I also ordered a dessert, peanut butter and chocolate cake with ice cream, it was okay, but I wanted to be wowed. I was really putting all my eggs in a basket on the dessert since the entree was not much to speak of.

Overall: Give it a try, just don't order the Lobster Ravioli.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Seafood and Sushi”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fun and buzzy atmosphere. Efficient and pleasant service. The restaurant is decorated to give the feel of being on a cruise ship - they manage to pull it off without it being tacky. The sushi was
freshly made and tasted incredible. The lobster roll was delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheEwellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great sushi, loud atmosphere”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've been to Lure a few times and have never been disappointed in the food. The calamari appetizer is probably the best I've had anywhere. The shrimp tempura is also very good. I usually order sushi here, they have a nice variety of rolls, I particularly like the lobster tempura roll. The service is attentive, but sometimes someone would walk over to our table and just look around without taking anything away. I understand that they're trying to be helpful, but at times it was odd. The atmosphere is very loud. The music is at a really high volume, so if you're sitting under one of the speakers, it could be difficult to hold a conversation. On one occasion, the speakers were malfunctioning and we spent half the dinner listening to speakers cracking and popping. However, I wouldn't let this deter you from going, the food is well worth the trip. And as other reviewers mentioned, it is on the pricey side. Even though the restaurant is more on the casual side, I would recommend making a reservation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKauffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot for a casual night out with colleagues/friends!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife's family has a seafood restaurant in Maine so my standards for seafood are definitely high. I have to say, Lure had delicious appetizers; oysters on the half shell, calamari (some of the best I've ever had) and offered a great entree of a lobster roll.

Great atmosphere for a casual business meeting or a night out with friends/co-workers.

Definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lure Fishbar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lure Fishbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing