We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Orsay

Orsay
Reserve with OpenTable
Orsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,094 of 13,936 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 75th Street and Lexington Avenue
Transit: 6 train to 77th Street, then walk south two blocks.
Description: Designed by partner Jean Denoyer, Orsay strikes that difficult balance of sophisticated-chic in a warm convivial atmosphere. Dark mahogany raised paneled walls meet Art Nouveau styled arches in a deep, creamy butter color. The floor is a work of art, Italian mosaic tiles in warm tones of precious metals hand laid in a beautiful fan pattern that floats in waves across the expanse of floor. Banquettes with high wood backs topped with frosted glass panels provide privacy if wanted, and the low, soft lighting emanates from Art Nouveau period chandeliers that Denoyer had custom designed. A 20-foot long zinc-topped wood bar shipped in one piece from France, and French doors that spill onto the sidewalk terrace, completing the feeling that you are in the 9th arrondisement in Paris. This sophisticated and elegant Parisian-style brasserie marries modern French cuisine and classic brasserie fare. Orsay's award-winning wine list includes all 300 predominantly French and American varietals.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just the right mix of France and NYC.

Great bar. Nicely space tables.

Food is well prepared from a menu with a decent range of choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsayRestaurant, General Manager at Orsay, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello, and thank you for reviewing our restaurant. We appreciate your kind words, and we're glad that you enjoyed yourself while visiting. Please stop in again if you're visiting NYC!
Best wishes,
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Orsay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 248 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I ate here for Thanksgiving. The food was great, however, service was amateurish for a high end restaurant. First, one of the host automatically assumed that I was part of the Filipino party of 18 because I'm Asian as well. He should have asked if he didn't know 100%, bad way to start our experience. He also didn't ask if we wanted to check in our coats. Once seated, we didn't get any bread, when we asked for bread in the middle of our meal, we didn't get any butter. Never once did the waitress ask us if everything was to our satisfaction. She also assumed that I was sharing my wife's dessert and didn't give me a dessert menu. Once the check came, there was no pen to sign my receipt. The most basic service skills was lacking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nycglobaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsayRestaurant, General Manager at Orsay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, and for joining us on Thanksgiving. We take pride in our classic french food, and we're glad that you enjoyed your dinner. However, service is also one of our priorities, and we apologize for the faults in your recent visit. There are no excuses for poor service, and while we appreciate your online feedback, we also encourage you to reach out to a manager while on site-- so that we can remedy the situation immediately and ensure that you enjoy your experience.
Thank you again,
Olivier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This French restaurant is a great find.
It is close to 77 St station(6 Line), but it isn't a popular area for sightseeing, so if you can go there on Sunday night, you can get a nice seat (as if you have a special dinner at home), quiet and peaceful dining experience without any queue.
It was very nice for me, because mostly restaurants in Manhattan are so tiny, busy, and loudly.
The restaurant has enough room and they said it wasn't busy on Sunday night.
We made it outside table which is covered with glass walls, so we didn't need to feel cold and never worried about rain.

We are two of us and small eaters, so we normally wanted to share everything.
They served salad separately.
We had some wine, seafood bouillabaisse(very nice), mushroom risotto, crape suzette and dessert wine.
Whenever they served dishes, they also served extra plates and cutleries.
Wine, bouillabaisse, crape were very nice.
I am sure these are one of the best dish I've ever had in NYC.
In additional, the interior was also very classical. I love it.
I want to go there again.
I strongly recommend this restaurant anyone who want to eat delicious food in NYC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 梓
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsayRestaurant, General Manager at Orsay, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting with us on Sunday, and for all of your kind words! We take pride in our food, service, and the atmosphere of our restaurant-- and we're so glad that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable experience. We do try to ensure that our guests feel at home and comfortable while dining with us, and we're happy that you felt as comfortable as you would at home!
Thanks again for visiting, and we hope to see you again!
-Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Fantastic setting, quality French Croque and a nice glass of wine with great service. Something about the way the light reflects on the beautiful old decor and copper metals that warms one's soul. Staff helps me with my French and always has a gracious smile. It really is like Paris in NYC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JasNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsayRestaurant, General Manager at Orsay, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hi JasNewYork,
Thank you so much for reviewing! We strive to ensure that our guests experience quality food, service, and decor, and we're so happy that you've enjoyed yourself while visiting.
We look forward to seeing you again,
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you needed to feel like you wanted a vacation in Paris; run over to Orsay on the upper east side of Manhattan. Wonderful French bistro with all the accoutraments and foods of France. Escarcot prepared perfectly, Frogs Legs at their best. Wonderful Champagne and wine list

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terryr623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsayRestaurant, General Manager at Orsay, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello Terry,
Thank you so much for reviewing our restaurant. We're so glad that you've enjoyed yourself while visiting! We strive to ensure that our guests' experiences are authentic and welcoming, and we're happy to hear that you felt as if you were visiting Paris in NYC.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orsay also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Orsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing