We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bistro feel! Raw clams & wine - divine!”
Review of Orsay

Orsay
Reserve with OpenTable
Orsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,062 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 75th Street and Lexington Avenue
Transit: 6 train to 77th Street, then walk south two blocks.
Description: Designed by partner Jean Denoyer, Orsay strikes that difficult balance of sophisticated-chic in a warm convivial atmosphere. Dark mahogany raised paneled walls meet Art Nouveau styled arches in a deep, creamy butter color. The floor is a work of art, Italian mosaic tiles in warm tones of precious metals hand laid in a beautiful fan pattern that floats in waves across the expanse of floor. Banquettes with high wood backs topped with frosted glass panels provide privacy if wanted, and the low, soft lighting emanates from Art Nouveau period chandeliers that Denoyer had custom designed. A 20-foot long zinc-topped wood bar shipped in one piece from France, and French doors that spill onto the sidewalk terrace, completing the feeling that you are in the 9th arrondisement in Paris. This sophisticated and elegant Parisian-style brasserie marries modern French cuisine and classic brasserie fare. Orsay's award-winning wine list includes all 300 predominantly French and American varietals.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great bistro feel! Raw clams & wine - divine!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend took me here for my birthday. I had a half dozen raw clams to start and then the appetizer portion(definitely enough) of the tuna tartare - Japonais style. The tartare had little bits of friend panki inside it and it brought it to a whole new level. The staff was VERY attentive and made special mention of my birthday(I think she mentioned it in the reservation). They brought by a little cookie platter to celebrate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alock115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    113
    31
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had high hopes of finding a bit of France on the upper East Side, celebrating our son's involvement in a new opening at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. We arrived for our Saturday evening 6:30 reservation, and the dining room was only 1/3 full. They tried to sit us in a busy walkway but we demurred and got a side table. Soon after being seated they filled both tables next to us. My son, a former waiter, remarked how the first rule of seating is spacing - to try to distribute diners so they have space, plus to give the room a more pleasant look to anyone passing by the windows. The service was good, but we had to ask for bread, and they provided a second bottle of sparkling water (at $8 each!) without asking permission.

My wife and I had the duck special and found it to be a very large portion, but tough and dry. Our son had a steak and said it was good. We shared a strawberry sherbet meringue desert which was good.

Beyond the disappointing food, the reason I rated low was the noise level. Hard surfaces of wood and glass reflected everything, including a couple of screaming children.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Terrific French Food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Bustling restaurant with flawless service. The raw oysters are the best around, and the traditional French food is fantastic. Several prix fixe options plus daily specials. Reserve ahead.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hrs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
311 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“O.K. Bistro food”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Food was average.. escargot plentiful and excellent as was hangar steak and New England clam chowder. Got cheese samosa with fig jam o.k. Pork Medallions cook but a large plate of meat with sauce... rice in a little pot. Not visually appealling. roast chicken with mashed potatoes o.k. but a bit salty.

Service capable and attentive. Atmosphere fine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice but others are better”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked this on open table on a Saturday for restaurant week and when we got there the pre fix was for everyother day but Saturday. The patte was too buttery and lacked flavor, the duck was prepared well but the flavor did not reach the meat. For the price I would go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VrmSjm1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orsay also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Orsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing