We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING”
Review of Maya

Maya
Reserve with OpenTable
Maya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,793 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Contemporary, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Between 64th and 65th streets
Transit: 6 Train to 68th street-Hunter College N, Q, R, 4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th & Lexington
Description: At Maya, Chef Richard Sandoval offers his signature blend of authentic Mexican ingredients and innovative culinary techniques. Handcrafted margaritas and a selection of over 100tequilas pair beautifully with the flavorful dishes. In the main and private dining rooms, handmade Mexican artwork completes Maya’s dining experience.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

There is always something to critique in a restaurant.... WELL NOT THIS ONE. From the ambaince, to drinks and food- all fantastic!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoriH848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    67
    34
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bomoseen, Vermont
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great guac and margaritas, average meals”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

While visiting a friend nearby, we were in the mood for mexican food, so decided to stop by Maya. The reviews were definitely correct about the guacamole and margaritas...they were great! The rest of our meal was average to good, so not too bad altogether...we would probably give it another try.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The food was Excellent. Very tasty and more refined version of ordinary mexikan food. Had à lovely Sangria made with rosewine. Yummie!
The only negative think was that the tables were close and the background music was a bit loud. The straff was very nice and friendly and the service prompt. We hade a very nice meal and we did not leve hungrig sinne the portions were perfect in size.
Nice restaurant!,

Helpful?
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Mexico City Cuisine north of the border”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were fortunate to live in Mexico City for four years. The food at Maya
is fantastic. Best Mexican food we have had in the US.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheryljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic brunch”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I thought the food was fantastic! Brunch on Saturday and Sunday is all the small plates and light drinks for $35. I had a mushroom enchilada that was superb. Great waiter, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hdmatthias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya also viewed

 

Been to Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing