We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search

“Superb neighborhood Italian”
Review of Canaletto

Canaletto
Ranked #3,538 of 16,844 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Lenox Hill
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Lenox Hill
Reviewed November 24, 2016 via mobile

Went on a quiet Monday night. Friendly, attentive staff. Excellent straight up martini. Great puttanesca pasta followed by delicious medallions of veal piccata and tiramisu split 4 ways. Everything one hopes for in a neighborhood restaurant. Not expensive either.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank N5416OGedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 60 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2016

Crowd was tacky..dressed poorly..looked like they were going to a ball game... Food and service good....

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NYcitygirl10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Had a great meal with friends. My lunch portion of the Lobster Salad was totally amazing. My husband had pasta with chopped sausage and our friend had swordfish....all wonderful. Our server Sammy was attentive and friendly. The two-hour lunch was relaxing in this chic place. We definitely will go back!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TTLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Lovely jewel across the street from Bloomingdales. Ask about the Risotto and even the old fashioned spaghetti and meatballs is good. Brought the family and the kids loved the Meatballs, the grown ups had chicken, and veal. Nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank jessica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Had a very good meal again at Canaletto. Good service, nice décor. Recommend making a reservation as it is a favorite with locals. Reasonably priced upscale Italian for the Upper East Side. I think their pasta dishes are best, and their desserts are terrific. A very pleasant vibe, not too noisy. Good wine by the glass. My favorite restaurant for after a movie at Cinema 123. .

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LongIsland10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canaletto also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Canaletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing