We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search

“Reliably Good Italian Restaruant”
Review of Canaletto

Canaletto
Ranked #3,548 of 16,847 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Lenox Hill
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Lenox Hill
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Had a very good meal again at Canaletto. Good service, nice décor. Recommend making a reservation as it is a favorite with locals. Reasonably priced upscale Italian for the Upper East Side. I think their pasta dishes are best, and their desserts are terrific. A very pleasant vibe, not too noisy. Good wine by the glass. My favorite restaurant for after a movie at Cinema 123. .

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LongIsland10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

A neighborhood restaurant which offers great food and very good personal service!
This is not a "red sauce" Italian place, but everything we had was just right. I especially recommend their veal scallopini after you try their Salad Canaletto - When I get back to this area, I will definitely return to this marvelous little place.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank George_Moosie_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

Very warm and friendly authentic Italian restaurant. We have been there both for lunch and dinner and have enjoyed both experiences. The neighborhood includes both Bloomingdales and the Roosevelt Island Aerial Tramway.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RIslanderNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

We had a delicious personalized meal at Canaletto. Between the extensive menu and specials we found great choices but conversation with the waiter steered us to a few off-menu choices offered and executed in style. They combined fresh house made burrata with fresh figs and prosciutto and some roasted peppers on the side-yum. We also ordered a combination plate of grilled calamari (truly memorable tender morsels grilled to perfection) and baked clams with a fresh tomato salad. Entrees included a special veal scaloppine with fontina and grilled radicchio and another off/menu request of chicken piccata which were both fork tender and delicious. Dessert was an amazing sabayon with fruit and limoncello (offered on the house) we loved every bite and will be back!

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank raley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2016

Do you enjoy a cosy, friendly Italian place with good food and excellent service? Great for lunch and a break from shopping across the street....quite and romantic at night with your favorite date and a bottle of wine.

The specials of the day are delicious, soft shell crabs, mushroom stuffed pasta with truffle oil; fish...veal...chicken...all delightful. Small tables but not crowded but close enough to see what the next table is eating in case you want to have the same plate.

A steps down from the street into the long bar running along the left side of the resturant, then into the dining room in the back....a wonderful atmosphere that lends itself to the Italian food that you will enjoy.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Genjackson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canaletto also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Canaletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing