We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Food, Calm Atmosphere”

Lusardi's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lusardi's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,118 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 78th
Webster, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Food, Calm Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Portions sizes are really good. A great menu lineup, and calm and comforting atmosphere. The service was excellent and I never had to ask for a refill. This is more for the "older crowd", and the trendy type may find it old fashioned, but I really enjoyed it here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    30
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very good Italian. The Caprese was very good as an appetizer, as was the Vitello alla Parmigiana as the main. The pasta with truffes looked wonderful. Next time I may want to try the Fegato alla Veneziana. The room is nice looking and comfortable. The tables re nicely spaced, allowing for comfortable table conversation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockrolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,526 reviews
682 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 935 helpful votes
“Pleasant but not much more”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On the way back from the Met, we cross East all the way to Second avenue, headed for Mediterraneo, a preferred Italian spot of ours. The weather being very pleasant, we are walking and run into Lusardi's. The ivory colored linen tablecloths and shining tableware catch our attention and we decide to give it a try for a very late lunch/early diner.

Lunch starts pleasantly enough with the opening of a chilled bottle of Prosecco Cogneliano ($40) and a shared Caprese. I have serious doubts that the mozzarella lives up to the "Bufala" the menu describes, but I let it go. Basil is missing as well. I wish that Chefs describe their dishes more in detail on the menu, especially when they are using names everybody knows and associates with something (like, Caprese, is fresh tomatoes, mozzarella di Bufala, extra virgin olive oil and fresh basil). Notice, there is no mention of the sweet glazed concoction surround my Caprese today.

For main course we get spaghetti with seafood (sauce too heavy, butter/cream and flour I guess) and tagliateli integralli (whole wheat) cooked with fresh tomatoes and delicious.

They have Tartuffo, one of the rare sweets (ice cream in chocolate) that can get me to have dessert and it arrives with complimentary biscotti accompanied by a cherry liquor dip.
Our waiter is personified attention and courtesy, but his sub manages to poor some bubbly atop the bread. We should have gone to Mediterraneo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband, son and I celebrated a birthday at lusardis this past Tuesday evening. It was our first time here. The food was delicious. We had the veal martini, and veal parmigiana. Cooked to perfection, as were the pasta, with garlic and olive oil and the veggies. The bread and zucchini in marinara sauce was a nice touch. The place was full by 7:30, but service was terrific (very attentive staff ) and surprisingly the noise level was not bad. A manager came over at the end of our meal and asked us if we enjoyed the dinner. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanOreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best of the rest...”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

You can go downtown, uptown, midtown or Brooklyn and you won't find any better Italian food in the big apple. The neighbors know it too, so be sure to make a reservation and prepare for a crowd and once in a while a short wait. Come for the food and the lively atmosphere and the friendly, but efficient service. The waiters, bus boys, maitre d's and bar statt all pitch in. Typical of the best Italian food, it is seasonal, fresh and nicely presented. Some portions are generous enough to share, but the waiter will confirm. If you decide to share, they will divide the portions -- without being asked -- a nice touch, and less frequent these days. At Lusardi's, they will even divide the second glass of wine and since it's a generous pour of good quality wine, you will want that second glass. Listen carefully to the specials and consider them. They represent the best of the season. If you want a quieter meal, just go early. Otherwise prepare for the noise that comes with a friendly, cheerful crowd of all ages, enjoying a night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lusardi's Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lusardi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing